De Gendt De Winner In Catalunya Stage 3!

PeloPics: The shortened Queen stage 3 of the Volta a Catalunya saw Lotto Soudal’s Thomas De Gendt infiltrate the break of the day and then attack to take the solo win by 20 seconds and take the overall lead from Alejandro Valverde (Movistar).

Behind the Belgian, Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) attacked to be joined by Nairo Quintana (Movistar), Mathias Frank (AG2R-La Mondiale) and Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ). The four couldn’t cross to De Gendt and were caught in the line by the chasers. De Gendt leads by 23 seconds from Valverde with Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-Scott) and Simon Yates at 29 seconds.

Volta a Catalunya Stage 3 Result:
1. Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Lotto Soudal in 4:14:48
2. Simon Yates (GB) Mitchelton-Scott at 0:20
3. Thibaut Pinot (Fra) Groupama-FDJ
4. Mathias Frank (Swi) AG2R-La Mondiale
5. Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar
6. Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
7. Maximilian Schachmann (Ger) Quick-Step Floors
8. Egan Bernal (Col) Sky
9. Matej Mohoric (Slo) Bahrain-Merida
10. Bob Jungels (Lux) Quick-Step Floors.

Volta a Catalunya Overall After Stage 3:
1. Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Lotto Soudal in 12:34:54
2. Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar at 0:23
3. Daryl Impey (RSA) Mitchelton-Scott at 0:29
4. Simon Yates (GB) Mitchelton-Scott
5. Thibaut Pinot (Fra) Groupama-FDJ at 0:31
6. Jay McCarthy (Aus) Bora-Hansgrohe at 0:33
7. Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar at 0:35
8. Matej Mohoric (Slo) Bahrain-Merida
9. Bob Jungels (Lux) Quick-Step Floors
10. Eduard Prades Reverter (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country-Murias.

catalunya18de gendtpelopics