Egan Bernal Scoops The Oro Y Paz In Colombia

PeloPics: Egan Bernal (Sky) sealed the inaugural Colombia Oro y Paz title with a stunning late attack on the final day in Manizales. The 21 year old hit out three kilometers from the finish and, helped by the brilliant Tao Geoghegan Hart and Sebastian Henao, stayed clear of the chasing favorites to seal the title by just 9 seconds.

Having crossed the line second on the stage, behind Dayer Quintana (Movistar), Bernal faced an agonizing wait to see if he had done enough – and he wasn’t disappointed. Rigoberto Uran (EF Education First-Drapac) led the favorites home 11 seconds later to confirm Bernal’s victory. Sergio Henao finished with Uran and fellow contender Nairo Quintana (Movistar) to wrap up fourth overall, while Bernal also claimed the young rider’s jersey.

The 187.8km stage played out in surprising circumstances, with a large group of more than 30 riders going clear in the early stages. Both Geoghegan Hart and Sebastian Henao were able to make the move and that would later prove crucial for Bernal. The gap to the leaders remained at around three minutes for the majority of the final 50km but as the final climb began to take its toll the gap started to fall.

Rodrigo Contreras (EPM) pushed clear on the lower slopes of the climb and looked likely to take the honors on the final day but he faded at the last, paving the way for Dayer Quintana to take the win. Behind both Geoghegan Hart and Henao had linked up with Bernal after his attack and the pair paced the young Colombian to perfection.

Overall winner, Egan Bernal (Sky): “I felt very good all day long and I kept telling the guys: ‘I feel good, I feel good!’ but I had to keep calm and wait for the tougher last kilometers. The last three or four kilometers were tougher and I decided to attack. I was fourth on GC so I didn’t have a lot to lose but I had everything to gain. I tried, I gave everything and finally I got a little advantage. I had two teammates in the break and they did an amazing job! I was telling Tao: ‘Tao, Tao, it’s so hard, you have to slow down!’ He helped me almost until the last meters. The most important thing was to win the GC and not the stage. Of course, it would have been better to win both but the idea was to win the GC. So, my teammates waited for my attack. That’s why I feel so proud and happy with this team. They supported me and did incredible work.”

Stage winner, Dayer Quintana (Movistar): “Our plan was to get into all big breaks, and we succeeded when Pedrero and I joined that 30-rider group. The dangerous riders on the GC weren’t that really close, but we knew we had to keep an eye on Sevilla and Sebastián Henao specifically in case they wanted to try a move. At the final kilometers, Pedrero was asked by the team to drop back and help Nairo out in the bunch. My task was remaining at the front and wait for my brother, but at the latter part of the stage there was no radio communication available, and I didn’t know what to do. I was so close to dropping back myself to wait for Nairo, but I didn’t get a response and continued following the wheel of Sevilla and Henao, who helped me approach Contreras. At the end, I sprinted with everything I had to win the stage, because we had to take something out of the day. My daughter is turning one year old tomorrow, so there’s no better way to celebrate than offering her this present!”

Colombia Oro y Paz Stage 6 Result:
1. Dayer Quintana (Col) Movistar at 4:22:11
2. Egan Bernal (Col) Sky at 0:10
3. Sebastian Henao (Col) Sky
4. Angel Alexander Gil Sanchez (Col) EPM at 0:14
5. Daniel Martinez (Col) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale at 0:18
6. Oscar Sevilla Rivera (Spa) Medellin
7. Rigoberto Uran (Col) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale at 0:21
8. Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar at 0:22
9. Sergio Henao (Col) Sky
10. Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Quick-Step Floors.

Colombia Oro y Paz Final Overall Result:
1. Egan Bernal (Col) Sky in 20:49:03
2. Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar at 0:09
3. Rigoberto Uran (Col) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale at 0:11
4. Sergio Henao (Col) Sky at 0:13
5. Daniel Martinez (Col) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale at 0:43
6. Ivan Sosa (Col) Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec at 0:46
7. Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Quick-Step Floors at 0:48
8. Aristobulo Cala Cala (Col) Bicicletas Strongman Colombia Coldeportes at 1:11
9. Danny Alberto Osorio (Col) Orgullo Paisa at 1:13
10. Rafael Aniba Montiel (Col) Orgullo Paisa at 1:27.

Egan BernalNairo Quintanaoro y paz18pelopicsRigoberto Uran