John’s End of Year Photo Gallery

A miscellaneous gallery

PeloPics: John Thomson has dragged his archives for another of his classic photo galleries of the stars of cyclocross and road, even with a mountain biker thrown in, although he is a World champion. A real mix from Canada in the 90’s up to Europe in 2019.

John’s Miscellaneous Gallery:
“My end of year gallery has a mix of mostly unseen shots from the recent and distant past. We are all looking forward to things getting back to normal. Seasons greetings to everyone!!”


Mathieu van der Poel leads Wout van Aert on the first lap in Essen 2016


Wout van Aert riding to the win in Essen 2016


Tom Meeusen rode to a fine podium finish in Essen 2016 after an early crash


Van der Poel had a few mechanicals and was off the podium as the fans head home in the mist in 2016


Off to a great start this year, Eli Iserbyt as U23 world champion winning in Overijse 2016


Wout van Aert riding to 2nd place behind Van der Poel in front of a tough Belgian crowd in Overijse 2016


Mathieu van der Poel enjoying his win at Zonhoven 2018


Mathieu van der Poel a little closer at Zonhoven 2018


Belgian U23 champion Timo Kielich at Namur 2019


British champion Tom Pidcock was “the coldest I’ve ever been” at Namur in 2019 for 4th place


Toon Aerts during his epic battle at Namur 2019


Zdenek Stybar broke a sweat early at the Waaslandcross Sint-Niklaas 2019 to finish a fine 6th


Matthieu van der Poel came second behind Toon Aerts at Hotondcross Ronse 2019


A true fan enjoying the Hotondcross Ronse 2019


Mathieu van der Poel keeping it upright for the win at Overijse 2019


Using two flashes at Gastown GP Vancouver


Alex Stieda at Fort Langley road race. Shot with a Rolleicord on negative film


Road race at UBC Vancouver


Brian Walton at Canadian track championships Victoria, BC. Shot with a Pentax 645 on transparency film


Two-times previous winner Tom Boonen at Scheldeprijs 2016


A glowing Filippo Pozzato at Tour of Flanders start in Antwerp 2017. He was 2nd in 2012


The previous years winner Alexander Kristoff with Sylvain Chavanel at Tour of Flanders 2016


Mathieu Ladagnous and Tom Boonen at Tour of Flanders 2016


Jasper Stuyven at Tour of Flanders 2017


Philippe Gilbert riding to his solo victory at Tour of Flanders 2017


Niki Terpstra would go on to win a cloudy and wet Tour of Flanders 2018


Future Canadian champion Matteo Dal-Cin at Gastown GP


Svein Tuft at Yaletown GP Vancouver


Two time world mountain bike champion Roland Green in the clouds at Grouse Mountain BC World Cup 2001


Tom Boonen at GP Montreal 2016


Greg Van Avermaet rides to the win at the “fastest Paris Roubaix ever” in 2017


Andre Greipel at Paris Roubaix 2016


Daniel Oss at Paris Roubaix 2016


Peter Sagan in the dust of Paris Roubaix had some bad luck in 2017 but would win the next year


Paris Roubaix cobbles at the start in Compiegne


Tony Martin at Paris Roubaix 2018


Tony Martin after the finish at Paris Roubaix 2018


Peter Sagan and Philippe Gilbert the last two winners of Paris Roubaix


Tom Boonen and Mathew Hayman with Sep Vanmarcke on the velodrome at Paris Roubaix 2016


# Big thanks again to John for his great photos – Just the motivation we need for the winter and after the ‘different’ 2020 season. #


john thomsonlatest newsNow on pezpelopicsphoto gallery