LIÈGE-BASTOGNE-LIÈGE’19: The PEZ Photo and Video Gallery!

PeloPics: After a third place in the Amstel Gold Race and a second place in Flèche Wallonne, Jakob Fuglsang took the win on Sunday with an impressive solo in Liège-Bastogne-Liège. Fuglsang attacked on the final climb of the day for his first Monument victory. Here is the top photos and video from ‘La Doyenne’.

Mas and Alaphilippe looked happy at the start, but it wasn’t a Deceuninck – Quick-Step day

Alejandro Valverde wasn’t too happy in Liege – No fifth win this year

Trek-Segafredo’s Toms Skujins had the right idea at the start

The start line in Liège

Liège-Bastogne-Liège with Total-Direct Energie

Bit of a change from the weather at the other spring Classics

Tom Dumoulin has had a quiet 2019 so far

The peloton had to take the tunnel out of Liège

The bunch was in no hurry

The break of the day had a lead of nearly 11 minutes

In rainy and windy condition, the 2019 Liège-Bastogne-Liège took off. The fourth Monument of the year had an early break with eight riders, but with 100 kilometres to go this group the peloton started to split on one of the hard climbs in the Belgian Ardennes. This resulted in a new leading group, and a strongly reduced peloton close behind.

The rain didn’t help the chase

Deceuninck – Quick-Step were in control, but Alaphilippe wasn’t on a good day

The peloton was shrinking

Saint Roch

Deceuninck wanted the win

The cream always comes to the top

Maybe Dumoulin is dreaming of the Giro

The last kilometre

Dumoulin had Sanchez for company

Lotto Soudal’s Lambrecht will be a star of the future

Kangert showed off the EF Education First jersey

Fuglsang made his move

At the bottom of Cotes des Forges, less than 30 kilometres to go, there was only one lonely leader left and the riders of Astana started to go to the front of the peloton. They performed a perfect lead-out for Jakob Fuglsang, who attacked on the final climb of the day. Two riders were able to hang on, but not much later Fuglsang went solo to the finish line to take the first Monument of his career.

When Fuglsang attacked only woods and Formolo could hold him

The Dane soon went solo

Fuglsang only had the rain for company

The Fuglsang win (with skid) by Astana

The big win at last – The perfect end to a great Spring

Another win in Liège for Astana

Mrs. Fuglsang said he would win

2018 winner, Wout Poels (Sky) was 10th at 1:26

11th and 12th, Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal) and Michal Kwiatkowski (Sky) at 1:29

Jakob Fuglsang interview

“It’s fantastic, I’m so happy. It’s the biggest one-day victory in my career, to finish this great week with this result is very special. The team positioned me perfect for the final climb, on the important moment they were there for me. They did an amazing job, because for me the finish line was at the top of this climb, so I gave it all. At one moment I looked back and then I knew it was possible and I tried to keep going. There was one scary moment in the downhill, but luckily I was able to get my bike back under control. I was feeling good all day and I tried to stay out of trouble and to stay warm. It was the perfect scenario for me because it was a very hard race. I look forward to a small break now, but this gives a huge motivation for the next races this season.” – Jakob Fuglsang (Astana).

Two from Bora-Hansgrohe on the podium, but Astana on the top step

2019 Liège-Bastogne-Liège Result:
1. Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana in 6:37:37
2. Davide Formolo (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe at 0:27
3. Maximilian Schachmann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe at 0:57
4. Adam Yates (GB) Mitchelton-Scott
5. Michael Woods (Can) EF Education First
6. David Gaudu (Fra) Groupama-FDJ
7. Mikel Landa (Spa) Movistar
8. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida at 1:00
9. Dylan Teuns (Bel) Bahrain-Merida at 1:05
10. Wout Poels (Ned) Sky at 1:26
11. Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto Soudal at 1:29
12. Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Sky
13. Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe
14. Jay McCarthy (Aus) Bora-Hansgrohe
15. Carlos Betancur (Col) Movistar
16. Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Deceuninck – Quick-Step
17. Laurens De Plus (Bel) Jumbo-Visma
18. Tadej Pogačar (Slo) UAE Team Emirates
19. Guillaume Martin (Fra) Wanty-Gobert
20. Daniel Felipe Martinez Poveda (Col) EF Education First
21. Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale
22. Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin
23. Daryl Impey (RSA) Mitchelton-Scott at 2:09
24. Anthony Perez (Fra) Cofidis
25. Rudy Molard (Fra) Groupama-FDJ.

AstanaJakob Fuglsanglatest newsliege-bastogne-liegeliege19Now on pezpelopicsphoto gallery