Paris-Nice Stage 2: Groenewegen – Victor In Vierzon!

PeloPics: Dutchman Dylan Groenewegen overpowered the other leading sprinters of the season to snatch his first stage win on Paris-Nice on Vierzon on Monday. The LottoNL-Jumbo fast man easily upstaged Elia Viviani (Quick-Step Floors) to equal the Italian’s tally of five victories this season. Germany’s André Greipel (Lotto Soudal) was third ahead of compatriot Phil Bauhaus (Sunweb) and overall leader Arnaud Démare (Groupama-FDJ), who retained his leader’s yellow and white jersey. The Frenchman leads Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors) by 10 seconds overall.

Dylan Groenewegen thought it was a nice victory. “It was a difficult sprint. The last two hundred metres went uphill. The boys perfectly dropped me off for the last corner. I was well positioned for the sprint. I just went full throttle and nobody was able to keep up with me. I am very happy with this victory, because I beat a lot of good sprinters, like Viviani, Démare and Greipel. It’s always good to be able to beat those top guys. I am very grateful for my teammates, because without them this would never have been possible.”

Paris-Nice Stage 2 Result:
1. Dylan Groenewegen (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo in 4:51:31
2. Elia Viviani (Ita) Quick-Step Floors
3. André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Soudal
4. Phil Bauhaus (Ger) Sunweb
5. Arnaud Demare (Fra) Groupama-FDJ
6. Mike Teunissen (Ned) Sunweb
7. Alexander Kristoff (Nor) UAE Team Emirates
8. Jean-Pierre Drucker (Lux) BMC
9. John Degenkolb (Ger) Trek-Segafredo
10. Ivan Garcia (Spa) Bahrain-Merida.

Paris-Nice Overall After Stage 2:
1. Arnaud Demare (Fra) Groupama-FDJ in 7:58:57
2. Gorka Izagirre (Spa) Bahrain-Merida at 0:07
3. Christophe Laporte (Fra) Cofidis at 0:08
4. Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Quick-Step Floors at 0:10
5. Mike Teunissen (Ned) Sunweb at 0:13
6. Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto Soudal
7. Tony Gallopin (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale at 0:15
8. Esteban Chaves (Col) Mitchelton-Scott
9. Ion Izagirre (Spa) Bahrain-Merida
10. Heinrich Haussler (Aus) Bahrain-Merida.