Paris-Roubaix: One Hell Of A Classic Photo Gallery!

PeloPics: Paris-Roubaix is probably the one-day race everyone looks forward to, except maybe some of the riders. This Sunday would been the 118th cobbled Classic to hit the road through the ‘Hell of the North’ and so we have put together a collection of some of the best photos from Cor Vos (plus some from John Thomson and Matt McNamara) covering the race from the late 70s through to last year, 2019. Iconic pictures that maybe don’t need descriptions, but we try to tell the story.

You can see the PEZ Retro Paris-Roubaix 1994 Photo Gallery HERE.

Two of the top men in the Hell of the North – Eddy Merckx and Roger de Vlaeminck, seven Paris-Roubaix wins

Raymond Poulidor was more of a Grand Tour rider, but he still rode the cobbled Classics – Times have changed

Joop Zoetemelk was a Tour winner – he also rode the Classics

It’s not just the riders who crash on the road to Roubaix

Wallers/Arenberg is not a good place to puncture

Roger de Vlaeminck – The King of Roubaix

De Vlaeminck was 2nd in Roubaix’79, but he did win Milan-Sanremo and Het Volk that year – Here followed by 1976 Roubaix winner, the late Marc Demeyer. Further back, Britain’s Phil Edwards is behind Gregor Braun, next to Didi Thurau. Jean Luc Vandenbroucke is on the far right

Triple Roubaix winner Francesco Moser had the flattest back in the peloton

World champion Bernard Hinault won in 1981 ahead of De Vlaeminck and Moser – The Frenchman said: “Paris-Roubaix is bullshit!”

It was muddy in 1983 and there were plenty of crashes

Hennie Kuiper dropping the hammer on the cobbles during the 1983 Paris-Roubaix. Kuiper crashed twice, somehow maintaining his position within the lead grop, before having another setback with 6 kilometers to go. At 6km, Kuiper punctured, but his team manager was able to quickly bring him a new bike. Kuiper would enter the velodrome in Roubaix alone

Kuiper and Moser with Gilbert Duclos-Lassalle behind them

Hennie Kuiper waiting for his new bike with 6K to go

Adrie van der Poel (father of Mathieu) and Ferdi Van den Haute on the cobbles of Wallers

Alain Bondue and Gregor Braun – Teammates off the front

Sean Kelly would win the 1984 Paris-Roubaix. The decisive move that would allow Kelly to win came with 45 kilometers to go. Kelly chased down Gregor Braun and Alain Bondue, who had both broken away earlier. Rudy Rogiers joined Kelly and they eventually shed Bondue and Braun. Once the duo entered the Roubaix velodrome, Kelly easily out-sprinted Rogiers

Sean Kelly – Two time Paris-Roubaix winner

Sometimes there are surprise winner in Roubaix – Jeanmarie Wampers in 1989. Happy birthday Jeanmarie for the 7th of April

Steven Bauer and Eddy Planckaert in 1990 – The Belgian went on to win, Bauer second

A hard race for the photographers too

No peace for the winner – Andei Tchmile 1994 winner (more pics HERE)

Three Mapei on the podium in 1998 – Tafi, Ballerini and Peeters

George Hincapie always wanted to win Paris-Roubaix – 6th in 2000

Dust in 2000

Andrei Tchmile and Andrea Tafi – Two Roubaix wins between them

Johan Museeuw and his repaired knee win the 2000 Paris-Roubaix

After the dry 2000, wet and muddy conditions for 2001

Who is the rider? Leon van Bon

Two hard men – Ludo Dierckxsens and Steffen Wesemann

Johan Museeuw, Romans Vainsteins and George Hincapie

Servais Knaven 2001 wet winner

Tom Boonen burst on the scene in 2002 and finished 3rd

Johan Musseeuw took his third Roubaix win in 2002

No mud in 2003

Not a good day on the cobbles for Van Heeswijk and Ivanov

Dust and wind in 2003

2003 was probably Peter Van Petegem’s best season – Roubaix and Flanders in the spring and then third in the World championships in autumn

You could say Magnus Bäckstedt was a surprise winner in 2004, but he was a big strong rider made for the Hell of the North

Roger Hammond led-out the sprint in the Roubaix velodrome

Bäckstedt got the better of Roger Hammond, Tristan Hoffman and Fabian Cancellara

Not much fun for Australian Allan Davis in 2005

Tom Boonen’s first win in Roubaix ahead of Hincapie and Flecha

2005 was quite a year for Boonen, World champion by the end of the year

Plowing their way to Roubaix

Fabian Cancellara’s first win of three

It wasn’t plain sailing for 2007 winner, Stuart O’Grady

Another Roubaix win for CSC

Treacherous as always – Trouee d’Arenberg

Not an easy race for the team cars either

On the way to his second Roubaix win in 2008 – Tom Boonen

Boonen won solo in 2009

The race was soon down to the last few riders

Two in a row and Roubaix No. 3 for ‘Tommeke’

Fabian Cancellara took the second of his three wins in 2010

Roger Hammond out-sprinted Tom Boonen for fourth place

World champion Thor Hushovd should have won a Paris-Roubaix – The race suited his style

Johan Vansummeren – Surprise winner in 2011? Well deserved

A nice day for the 110th Paris-Roubaix

Tom Boonen last win in Roubaix in 2012

2013 was another dry day

Fabian Cancellara got the better of Sep Vanmarcke

Not a great day for Alexander Kristoff

The chase was on, but Terpstra had the win in the bag

Niki Terpstra added to his palmarès

No repeat for Terpstra in 2015

Degenkolb in 2016

Matt Hayman spoiled the day for Tom Boonen

2016 could have been history in the making

Good-bye Tom

It was dry in 2017

Greg Van Avermaet had his day

The big win for the Olympic champion

Dillier was the ‘Star of the Day’

Not a great Roubaix for Kristoff

Naesen – An outside bet

Arenberg in 2018

Gilbert and Sagan

Peter Sagan and Silvan Dillier

A very happy World champion

2029: Looking for win No. 2 in Roubaix

Bike change for Wout Van Aert

And a wheel change for Stybar

The Gilbert fans were out

‘Man of the day’ Nils Politt

The winning tandem – Gilbert/Politt

2019 Roubaix came down to a sprint

Maybe an easy bet for the win

2019 podium – Lampaert, Gilbert and Politt

# Keep it PEZ for more Paris-Roubaix. #

cor voslatest newsNow on pezparis roubaixpelopicsPhilippe Gilbertphoto specialretro