Milan-Sanremo: The Classic Photo Gallery

Primavera Pics

PeloPics: The Milan-Sanremo is this Saturday, so here is a ‘Best Of’ Sanremo photo gallery. It was a tough job sifting through the Cor Vos collection, but these pics stood out for different reasons. Enjoy!

# You can read the ‘PEZ Milan-Sanremo Preview’ HERE. #

The start in Milano – the Duomo makes the perfect backdrop.

That break will not be out front for much longer

From the city to the coast – Olano, Martin, Kivilev and Bodrogi get to the Mediterranean first

Seven time winner Eddy Merckx on via Roma in San Remo.

1982 saw a two man break go all they way to the finish – Alan Bondue crashed on the descent of the Poggio and Marc Gomez took the win.

Marc Sergeant and Eddy Planckaert were amongst the chasers.

In 1983 Giuseppe Saronni won solo 44 seconds ahead of Guido Bontempi and the peloton – TI-Raleigh worked hard for Jan Raas, but he finished 3rd.

Hennie Kuiper and his teammate Tuen van Vliet broke away for Kuiper to win by 8 seconds.

Hennie Kuiper – Solo winner in ’85.

Alexi Grewal epitomizing the idea of looking cool and relaxed while racing a bike – Sean Yates behind him far right.

Steve Bauer and Steven Rooks attacked together during the 1986 race.

Greg Lemond sees Sean Kelly on his way – Lemond 2nd and Mario Beccia 3rd

Kelly took the first of his two Sanremo wins.

Sean Kelly looks tired on his day of glory in 1986. He would win the race a second time in 1992.

Erich Maechler won 6 seconds ahead of Eric Vanderaerden and 8 on the peloton in 1997.

Greg Lemond at the start in 1989.

Not many smiles in the peloton.

Laurent Fignon doubled in ’88 and ’89.

The PDM team of Kelly, Rooks and Alcala.

On the Poggio, Italian Classics specialist Maurizio Fondriest broke clear, followed by Laurent Jalabert in 1995.

Jalabert had no problem in the sprint.

In 1997 Eric Zabel took his first of four Sanremo wins while behind him it was carnage.

Michaelsen (TVM); Sciandri (FDJ) and Jalabert (ONCE) hit the tarmac.

It was all a bit much for the German.

Milan-Sanremo was probably not the race for Marco Pantani, but he was on the start line on a few occasions.

Paulo Bettini won in 2003 – Here he is attacking on the Poggio in 1998.

One of the classiest riders ever – Michele Bartoli in the World Cup leaders jersey in 1999.

Bettini, Wauters and Bartoli leading in 2001.

If you’re not there on the Cipressa, you won’t be there on the Poggio…

2004 saw Eric Zabel take his last of four Sanremo wins.

One of the tunnels on the way to the coast.

Mario Cipollini out-sprinted US champion Fred Rodriguez in 2002.

Cipo happy with his trophy.

Zabel thought he had his fifth Sanremo win – Óscar Freire swooped under his victory salute for the first of his three wins.

The peloton hits the coast and the finish is not too far off.


Another win for the palmarès

A very happy Deceuninck – Quick-Step team

The photog’s scrum for ‘that’ pic

Smiling faces all round – Alaphilippe and in the background Alessandro Tegner, Deceuninck – Quick-Step Marketing and Communication Manager

The podium craziness

Spumante on a Frenchman


It was a game of poker at the end

For the Belgian it is his second big win since the corona break, after Strade Bianche. Alaphilippe finished second, Michael Matthews won the sprint from the chase group. Van der Poel failed to finish in the top ten. Van Aert is the first Belgian to win Milan-San Remo since Andrei Tchmil, who was the victor in 1999 after he changed nationality to become a Belgian.

Two wins in two weeks

# Keep tuned to PEZ for the Milan-Sanremo Race Report on Saturday and lots more from Sanremo. #

latest newsmilano-sanremoNow on pezpelopicsphoto galleryretro