The PEZ Tour Of Flanders Classic Photo Gallery

The best pics from De Ronde

PeloPics: This Sunday should be one of the most exciting De Ronde van Vlaanderen, with the World champion Alaphilippe, Van der Poel, Van Aert and all the others ready for action. The Tour of Flanders has thrown up many iconic images over its 105 editions, so you can imagine how difficult it is to choose the best photos from the Cor Vos archive of over fifty years.

# See the ‘2021 PEZ Flanders Race Preview’ HERE.#

The climbs of the Koppenberg and the Muur van Geraardsbergen/Kappelmuur have occasionally been decisive in the Flemish race, but they have always thrown up some excitement, although less now that they are further away from the finish. Here is a selection of photos from the ‘hellingen’ from the 70s, 80s and up to last year.

Modern looking wheels on the roofrack of that Peugeot 404

This way to hell!

A close look at the torture

Chaos on the Koppenberg

Eddy Merckx went solo early in 1977, but was caught and dropped by Roger De Vlaeminck and World champion Freddy Maertens

Herman van Springel was forced to run up the Koppenberg in 1977 – The seven time winner of Bordeaux-Paris never won de Ronde

Two time Flanders winner, Jan Raas, was angry with a photographer on the Koppenberg in 1985 and so he punched him

Ferdi Van Den Haute needed police help when he crashed

Rider, team manager, journalist and TV commentator, the late Paul Sherwen hit the Koppenberg cobbles

Double World pursuit champion Alain Bondue was forced to walk with Hennie Kuiper on the Koppenberg

The rear view of the Koppenberg fallen in 1979

Kuiper again in 1981 with German National champion Gregor Braun

Jasper Skibby crashed on the Koppenberg and was then run over by the race director

Sometimes it’s faster running than riding

The cyclo-cross remount by BMC’s Karsten Kroon

A day out for the 2CV

Etienne De Wilde was a strong and successful rider on the road and track in his 20 year pro career – A winner of Het Volk, but never the Tour of Flanders

Typical Belgian weather on the Geraardsbergen

Luc Colijn and Eric Vanderaerden got a close look at the cobbles of the Muur

Sean Kelly leading Jean-Luc Vandenbroucke – Neither of them won Flanders

Kelly with Eric Vanderaerden – The Belgian won in 1985, Kelly was 2nd three times and once 4th

Peter Van Petegem and Franco Ballerini – Two wins for Van Petegem, none for Ballerini, but the Italian did win in Roubaix twice

Eddy van Hooydonck made his move on the Bosberg – Twice 1989 and 1991

Can’t get lost

It doesn’t have to rain to make a hard day in Flanders.

The power of Peter Sagan was too much in 2016

Philippe Gilbert, the Belgian champ does it in 2017

Another year, another Ronde 2018

Terpstra solo to the finish

All the stars in the chase behind the Dutchman – Vanmarcke, Van Avermaet, and Gilbert

Terpstra’s last big win with Deceuninck – Quick-Step

The Flemish love De Ronde

Van der Poel was keen, but…

Attack from Alberto Bettiol

Bettiol took the big win in 2019

Van der Poel, Van Aert and Alaphilippe away for the win in 2020


Just when it looked like we would have the top three riders of the moment fight for the victory, Alaphilippe hit the back of a motorbike

And then there were two

Together to the sprint

The Monument win for Van der Poel

# Looking forward to a big battle on Sunday, see the ‘PEZ Flanders Preview’ HERE and stay PEZ for the ‘Race Report’ on Sunday. #

Cobbleslatest newsNow on pezpelopicsronde van Vlaanderentour of flanders