Roglic Time Trials Into Pais Vasco Lead

PeloPics: LottoNL-Jumbo’s Primoz Roglic turned his Pais Vasco second place overall into the overall lead with his winning ride in the stage 4 time trial. The Slovakian put up a time of 22:26 for the 19.4 kilometer course in Lodoso, beating BMC’s Patrick Bevin by 9 seconds. Overall leader and double stage winner, Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors) was 7th at 42 seconds and is now second overall at 34 seconds. Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo) is now 3rd overall at 1:30 with two stages to go before the finish on Saturday in Arrate.

The top step for Roglic

Richie Porte, just here for the training?

Vincenzo Nibali didn’t try too hard

Nairo Quintana (Movistar) now 9th overall at 2:08

10th overall Ion Izagirre (Bahrain-Merida) at 2:11

Third on the stage at 11 seconds for Vasil Kiryienka (Sky)

Stage and overall for Roglic

Yellow for Primoz Roglic

Julian Alaphilippe now in second place overall and points leader

Vuelta al Pais Vasco Stage 4 Result:
1. Primoz Roglic (Slo) LottoNL-Jumbo in 22:26
2. Patrick Bevin (NZ) BMC at 0:09
3. Vasil Kiryienka (Blr) Sky at 0:11
4. Jonathan Castroviejo (Spa) Sky at 0:14
5. Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Sky at 0:20
6. Michael Matthews (Aus) Sunweb at 0:36
7. David De La Cruz (Spa) Sky at 0:37
8. Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Quick-Step Floors at 0:42
9. Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo at 0:43
10. Damiano Caruso (Ita) BMC.

Vuelta al Pais Vasco Overall After Stage 4:
1. Primoz Roglic (Slo) LottoNL-Jumbo in 13:41:26
2. Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Quick-Step Floors at 0:34
3. Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo at 1:33
4. Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe at 1:36
5. Gorka Izagirre (Spa) Bahrain-Merida at 1:42
6. Emanuel Buchmann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe at 1:48
7. Mikel Landa (Spa) Movistar at 1:51
8. Pello Bilbao (Spa) Astana at 1:57
9. Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar at 2:08
10. Ion Izagirre (Spa) Bahrain-Merida at 2:11

pais vasco18pelopicsroglic