San Juan And Mallorca – Photos And Video

PeloPic: Two races on Friday; the Vuelta a San Juan had another hot day with the overall places changing as home rider, Gonzalo Najar won on the Alto de Colorado and took over the leaders jersey. Day two of the Challenge Mallorca saw put in a big attack for the win with Alejandro Valverde showing he is back from his Tour de France injury.

Najar Takes Over in San Juan
Filippo Ganna (UAE Team Emirates) fought with determination on stage 5 of the Vuelta a San Juan, where he managed to finish 7th despite the difficult finish at nearly 2600 meters on the Alto de Colorado. He finished at 2:23 minutes behind the stage winner Argentine Gonzalo Najar, who races for the local SEP team.

Ganna held the lead in the under 23 classification and sits 3rd overall at 1:22. 40 year-old Oscar Sevilla (Medellin), second on the day and second overall, is at 1:02 to Najar with two stages remaining.

The climb of the Alto de Colorado

Fast descent to the valley

A dry day in Argentina

UAE Team Emirates’ Filippo Ganna lost his overall lead, down to 3rd

Gonzalo Najar took stage and overall honors

Another hot day for Tiesj Benoot

Vuelta Ciclista a la Provincia de San Juan Stage 5 Result:
1. Gonzalo Najar (Arg) S.E.P. de San Juan in 4:16:26
2. Oscar Sevilla (Spa) Medellin at 1:58
3. Rodolfo Torres (Col) Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec at 2:05
4. Roman Villalovos (CRc) Canel’s-Specialized at 2:15
5. Tiesj Benoot (Bel) Lotto Soudal at 2:23
6. Eduardo Sepulveda (Arg) Movistar
7. Filippo Ganna (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
8. Cristian Muñoz (Col) Coldeportes-Zenu at 2:52
9. Dayer Quintana (Col) Movistar at 2:57
10. Darwin Atapuma (Col) UAE Team Emirates.

Vuelta Ciclista a la Provincia de San Juan Overall After Stage 5:
1. Gonzalo Najar (Arg) S.E.P. de San Juan in 15:47:52
2. Oscar Sevilla (Spa) Medellin at 1:02
3. Filippo Ganna (Ita) UAE Team Emirates at 1:22
4. Rodolfo Torres (Col) Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec at 1:52
5. Rafal Majka (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe at 2:11
6. Tiesj Benoot (Bel) Lotto Soudal at 2:12
7. Omar Mendoza (Col) Medellin at 2:22
8. Dayer Quintana (Col) Movistar at 3:09
9. Kanstantsin Suitsou (Blr) Bahrain-Merida at 3:30
10. Rémi Cavagna (Fra) Quick-Step Floors at 3:37.

Tim Wellens Wins on Day 2 of the Challenge Mallorca
It was only his second race day and Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal) already claimed his first victory of the season! For the second year in a row he was the best at the Trofeo Serra de Tramuntana, one of the four races of the Challenge Mallorca.

The Trofeo was 140 kilometers long and contained six official climbs, starting with Coll de Sóller immediately after the start. Sondre Holst Enger (Israel Cycling Academy), who sprinted to the second place on Thursday, rode solo in front for a long time. On the Coll de sa Batalla, with top at about forty kilometers from the finish, the situation changed. Tim Wellens got in a front group with Brambilla (Trek-Segafredo), Moscon (Sky), Mühlberger (Bora-Hansgrohe) and Valverde (Movistar).

Sondre Holst Enger was out front for much of the day

Alejandro Valverde is back

Wellens put in a big attack

Wellens got the better of Moscon at the finish

Tramuntana podium – Valverde, Wellens and Moscon

Mallorca Challenge: Trofeo Serra de Tramuntana Result:
1. Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto Soudal in 3:45:52
2. Gianni Moscon (Ita) Sky
3. Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar at 0:24
4. Gianluca Brambilla (Ita) Trek-Segafredo at 0:27
5. Gregor Mühlberger (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe at 0:37
6. Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe at 5:06
7. Michael Gogl (Aut) Trek-Segafredo
8. Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo
9. Pim Ligthart (Ned) Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij
10. Felix Grossschartner (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe.

Alejandro Valverdemallorca18pelopicssan juan18