John’s Strade Bianche Photo Special!

Strade Bianche Photo Gallery: Later today (Saturday), the peloton, men’s and women’s, hits the gravel roads of Siena on the Strade Bianchi. To whet your appetite for the white roads Classic, PEZ photographer, John Thomson has emptied his photo files to compile his favorite Strade Bianche shots.

Siena in the sun 2019

John Thomson says: “I will miss Strade Bianche again this year (and the last two year), but I have put together a gallery with a lot of unseen shots from the wet 2018 and the dry 2019 editions. 2018 was a great race with most of the riders without glasses and more mud than a lot of cyclocross races. Camera was a Nikon D3 with a zone focused 20mm f4 lens and a Canon flash in manual mode. Siena city views were shot with a Fuji X70. Van der Poel was shot with a Ricoh GR II and Canon flash.”


Wout riding to 3rd place with his glasses off is my favorite shot from 2019


Siena from above


Vintage Bianchi on the streets of Siena


Snow in Siena two days before the race


Tiesj Benoot riding to the win in 2018


Piazza del Campo two days before the race


Wout battling to a 3rd place


Early morning race set up on Piazza del Campo


Alaphilippe about to make his winning move past Fuglsang in 2019


Via Santa Caterina in the early morning


It wouldn’t be Italy without a Pez Negroni


or some glam at Milan Fashion Week


Yves Lampaert 11th in 2019


Rising star Tadej Pogačar 30th


Tom Skujins 9th


Peter Sagan 8th in 2018


Alejandro Valverde 4th


Pierre Latour 19th


Marcus Burghardt 15th


Andrey Amador 18th


Daniel Oss 12th


Gianni Moscon 14th


Stefan Küng 16th


Top photog Tim De Waele and moto driver Kim Tiebergyn


Annemiek Van Vleuten won in 2019


The legend Marianne Vos 7th


Anna van der Breggen won in 2018


Elisa Longo Borghini 3rd


Chantal van den Broek-Blaak 4th


Vita Heine champion of Norway 47th


Ellen van Dijk 9th


Emilia Fahlin 59th


Hannah Barnes 51st


Luca Bettini wearing the #1 photo bib ready for a wet race


Giovanni Visconti 5th in 2018 with the cheering tifosi


Tom Dumoulin 21st


Michal Kwiatkowski won in the previous year 2017


Michael Schar with Greg Van Avermaet and Philippe Gilbert


Greg Van Avermaet was 2nd in the previous year 2017


Matej Mohoric 11th


Simon Clarke 17th


Stijn Devolder 28th


Iljo Keisse 52nd, after the finish with soigneur Yankee Germano


Alexandr Riabushenko OTL after the finish


Alex Howes 43rd after the finish


Fernando Gaviria 49th after the finish


Mathieu van der Poel (at Namur) has Strade Bianche in his sights


# Stay PEZ for the Strade Bianche race report and more news in EUROTRASH Monday. #

john thomsonlatest newsNow on pezpelopicsphoto gallerystrade bianche