The PEZ PARIS-ROUBAIX Winners Photo Gallery!

The top pavé performers

The Roubaix Winners Photo Gallery: The 2022 ‘Sunday in Hell’ was one of the most chaotic and exciting Paris-Roubaix classics ever. There is never a dull L’enfer du Nord and a ‘no-one’ never wins. We look back at the winners of the cobbled classic, not all 119 of them, but the last 20 years, which is how long PEZ has been gracing the internet. Plus we had to include a few other top performers on the cobbles who couldn’t be left out.

This year was dry, but we didn’t know the peloton was going to split in half before the cobbles

2022: Was Dylan van Baarle a surprise winner of Paris-Roubaix? No, his second place in De Ronde, the previous week, showed he had the form

2022: Elisa Longo Borghini gave her Trek-Segafredo team their second Roubaix win in a row

2021: Sonny Colbrelli gave his all in a muddy 2021 edition, we hope his battle goes on

2021: The first Paris-Roubaix for women was won by Lizzie Deignan with a long solo, a classic ride by a big champion

No Race in 2020 due to the covid-19 pandemic

2019: Philippe Gilbert added Roubaix to his long palmarès when he out-sprinted Nils Politt

2018: Peter Sagan was the first World champions to win Roubaix since Bernard Hinault in 1981. Sagan attacked on sector 12, only Swiss champion Silvan Dillier was able to stay with him. Sagan won the two-up sprint finish

2017: Greg Van Avermaet won a five-man sprint ahead of Zdeněk Štybar and Sebastian Langeveld

2016: No one was more surprised than Mathew Hayman when he won the sprint ahead Tom Boonen and Ian Stannard

2015: John Degenkolb won in a sprint ahead of Zdeněk Štybar and Greg Van Avermaet. Degenkolb was the second German to win after Josef Fischer’s victory at the first edition

2014: Niki Terpstra attacked from a small group with 6km to go and finished 20 seconds ahead of John Degenkolb and Fabian Cancellara

2013: Fabian Cancellara took his third Roubaix, second and third were Sep Vanmarcke and Niki Terpstra

2012: Tom Boonen equaled Roger De Vlaeminck with his fourth win after riding solo for 53 kilometres

2011: The tall Dutchman, Johan Vansummeren rode away from a four-man group with 15 kilometres remaining to win by 19 seconds

2010: Powerhouse, Fabian Cancellara took his second cobble

2009: Tom Boonen won his third Paris–Roubaix (2005, 2008, 2009). He finished solo, just ahead of Filippo Pozzato. Thor Hushovd was third

2008: Tom Boonen’s second Roubaix was won in a sprint finish on the Roubaix velodrome. Fabian Cancellara was a close second, Alessandro Ballan third. They were nearly 4 minutes ahead of the next group

2007: Stuart O’Grady finished 52 seconds ahead of Juan Antonio Flecha, Steffen Wesemann and Björn Leukemans. Five riders of the early break finished in the top ten

2006: Fabian Cancellara was the second cyclist from Switzerland to win Paris-Roubaix. It was a dry and dusty edition. The main favourite was Tom Boonen, as he had won the 2005 Paris–Roubaix and the 2006 Tour of Flanders, he finished seconds after the disqualifications of Hoste, Van Petegem and Gusev who rode through a closed railway level-crossing

2005: Tom Boonen did the double with Tour of Flanders and Paris-Roubaix wins in the same year. Boonen out-sprinted Hincapie and Flecha on the velodrome

2004: On the Carrefour de l’Arbre, with 15 kilometres to go, Johan Museeuw reduced the leading group to himself, Magnus Bäckstedt, Roger Hammond, Tristan Hoffman, Fabian Cancellara and George Hincapie, but with 6 kilometres before the finish line, Museeuw punctured. Cancellara led the group onto the velodrome, but it was Bäckstedt who won ahead of Hoffman, Hammond and Cancellara. This was Museeuw last Roubaix and he crossed the finish line in 5th place with Peter Van Petegem

2003: Peter Van Petegem did the double with his 2002 Tour of Flanders and Paris-Roubaix wins, 26 years after Roger De Vlaeminck

2002: PezCyclingNews started this year and Roubaix was won by a true ‘Lion of Flanders’ – Johan Museeuw


The famous Museeuw leg in 2000

Tafi in ’99

A muddy day for Andrei Tchmil in 1994

Double winner, Gilbert Duclos-Lasalle

Maybe a surprise winner, but Dirk Demol deserved it in 1988

In 1984 the decisive move that would allow Sean Kelly to win came with 45 kilometres to go. Kelly chased down Gregor Braun and Alain Bondue, who had both broken away earlier. Rudy Rogiers joined Kelly and they eventually shed Bondue and Braun. Once the duo entered the Roubaix velodrome, Kelly easily outsprinted Rogiers

Hennie Kuiper didn’t have all the luck when he won in 1983

The Badger in 1981

Another World champion Roubaix winner – In 1978 Francesco Moser won Paris-Roubaix and followed it up with 2nd place in the Amstel Gold Race. The Italian finished 1:16 down on a solo Jan Raas, out-sprinting Joop Zoetemelk, Freddy Maertens and Hennie Kuiper

Moser was a triple winner of the cobbled classic

The King of the cobbles – Roger De Vlaeminck in 1977

Marc Demeyer upset a few in 1976

Gimondi in 1966

The 1919 Paris–Roubaix was the 20th edition of the Paris–Roubaix, won by Henri Pélissier of France

The first race from Paris to Roubaix in 1896 won by Josef Fischer

We have to finish with a shower

latest newsNow on pezparis roubaixpelopicsphoto gallery