Romandie Win For De Gendt – Stage 2

PeloPics: Thomas De Gendt (Lotto Soudal) soloed to the win on stage 2 of the Tour de Romandie after escaping with three other riders soon after the gun. He dropped them and rode into Yverdon-les-Bains on his own over two minutes ahead of Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain-Merida) at the head of the chasers.

The break went early on stage 2 of the Tour de Romandie

Nathan Brown was the last man to hold on to De Gendt

De Gendt along with his Lotto Soudal teammate Victor Campenaerts broke away on the Col des Rangiers with Nathan Brown (Education First-Drapac) and Andrey Grivko (Astana). As the group headed towards the 100 kilometer mark they had an 8 minute advantage. Grivko was the first to be dropped on the Col des Etroits. then after some strong turns for De Gendt, Campenaerts sat up. Next to go was Brown on the penultimate climb with 25 kilometers left to race.

A hard days work for the LottoNL-Jumbo team

LottoNL-Jumbo’s Primoz Roglic had to ride hard to protect his overall lead as Woods and De Gendt could have taken the jersey, but Brown was caught on the circuit and De Gendt needed over 3 minutes. Sonny Colbrelli took another second place at the head of the peloton.

A well deserved win for Thomas De Gendt

A perfect effort by De Gendt

Enrico Gasparotto led-out Sonny Colbrelli for second place

The LottoNL-Jumbo team saved Primoz Roglic’s overall lead

Tour de Romandie Stage 2 Result:
1. Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Lotto Soudal in 4:03:05
2. Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bahrain-Merida at 2:04
3. Samuel Dumoulin (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale
4. Michael Matthews (Aus) Team Sunweb
5. Michael Mørkøv (Den) Quick-Step Floors
6. Xandro Meurisse (Bel) Wanty-Groupe Gobert
7. Diego Rosa (Ita) Sky
8. Egan Bernal (Col) Sky
9. Pierre Latour (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale
10. Antoine Duchesne (Can) Groupama-FDJ.

Tour de Romandie Overall After Stage 2:
1. Primoz Roglic (Slo) LottoNL-Jumbo in 8:14:25
2. Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC
3. Geraint Thomas (GB) Sky at 0:04
4. Diego Rosa (Ita) Sky at 0:05
5. Pierre Latour (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale
6. Gorka Izagirre (Spa) Bahrain-Merida at 0:08
7. Egan Bernal (Col) Sky at 0:10
8. Jonathan Castroviejo (Spa) Sky
9. Pierre Rolland (Fra) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale
10. Richie Porte (Aus) BMC at 0:13.

de gendtpelopicsromandie18