GIRO’18 Stage 12: Bennett At The Double!

Race Report: The Irish rider Sam Bennett (Bora-Hansgrohe) won stage 12 of the 101st Giro d’Italia, 214km from Osimo to Imola. Danny Van Poppel (Lotto NL-Jumbo) and Niccolò Bonifazio (Bahrain-Merida) finished second and third, respectively.

Another win for Ireland’s Sam Bennett

Bennett made the sprint on the Imola car racing circuit an epic ride under the rain as he anticipated the action of his rivals 400 meters before the line, soon after catching late breakaway riders Matej Mohoric (Bahrain-Merida) and Carlos Betancur (Movistar). The Irishman took his second victory after his victory on stage 7 to Praia a Mare, while hot favorite Elia Viviani (Quick-Step Floors) was off the back following a strong battle in the crosswinds. Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) retained the Maglia Rosa after controlling the attacks of top 10 GC contenders like Patrick Konrad (Bora-Hansgrohe) and former race leader Rohan Dennis (BMC).

A big crowd in Osimo

The stage course is perfectly flat and runs almost entirely along the ss16 Adriatica, on wide and straight roads, for 130km. The route then runs almost straight along the ss9 Via Emilia for a further 60km, leading through Santarcangelo di Romagna, Cesena and Forlì, into the Imola Racetrack and into the final “Tre Monti” circuit.

Stage 12 – Osimo-Imola 214km – total elevation 500m

Final kilometers
The final circuit (15.3km) is raced partly within the Imola Racetrack and partly outside it. From the finish line (on the pit straight), the route covers around 3.5km of the track, up to the Variante Alta. Here, the stage course leaves the racetrack (bottleneck), takes the climb leading to Tre Monti (awarding KOM points), and then descends onto quite wide and well-paved roads up to the red flag, which leads to the entry point of the Rivazza corner, approx. 850m before the finish. The last bend is 650m from the finish line, followed by a long home straight, just bending slightly, on 8m-wide and perfectly leveled asphalt road.

Michele Scarponi not forgotten in Osimo

The fans were out to see the start

Simon Yates was calm at the start

Manuel Senni (Bardiani-CSF) and Jacopo Mosca (Wilier Trestina-Selle Italia) lead the early break

The break of the day managed to escape after a few failed attempts: Jacopo Mosca and Eugert Zhupa (Wilier Triestina-Selle Italia), Mirco Maestri and Manuel Senni (Bardiani-CSF) and Marco Frapporti (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec) were off the front for most of the day.

Tim Wellens (Lotto FixAll) went solo on the Imola circuit

Stage winner, Sam Bennett (Bora-Hansgrohe): “It was a tough final for a bunch sprint. There were two guys upfront. I didn’t know how much energy they had left so I went early because I didn’t want to let the stage get away from me. I didn’t know if I would hold the lead. It worked to my advantage. I heard that Viviani was off the back… then that he was back. I wasn’t sure. I just had to do my sprint. I think it’s a nicer win than the first one.”

2018 stage win No. 2 for Sam Bennett

Race leader, Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott): “I guess these were favorable weather conditions for an Englishman. And also for an Irishman (Bennett)! It was a very difficult final. I think a few guys underestimated it, myself included. When Konrad and Dennis accelerated, I followed because I wasn’t sure who was trying to ride away. It all ended well.”

Giro d’Italia Stage 12 Result:
1. Sam Bennett (Irl) Bora-Hansgrohe in 4:49:34
2. Danny van Poppel (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo
3. Niccolo Bonifazio (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
4. Baptiste Planckaert (Bel) Katusha-Alpecin
5. Jurgen Roelandts (Bel) BMC
6. Michael Mørkøv (Den) Quick-Step Floors
7. Manuel Belletti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec
8. Clement Venturini (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale
9. Florian Senechal (Fra) Quick-Step Floors
10. Enrico Battaglin (Ita) LottoNL-Jumbo
11. Maurits Lammertink (Ned) Katusha-Alpecin
12. Jaco Venter (RSA) Dimension Data
13. Sacha Modolo (Ita) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale
14. Jarlinson Pantano (Col) Trek-Segafredo
15. Jean-Pierre Drucker (Lux) BMC
16. Ryan Gibbons (RSA) Dimension Data
17. Tosh Van Der Sande (Bel) Lotto FixAll
18. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
19. Christoph Pfingsten (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe
20. Richard Carapaz (Ecu) Movistar
21. Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe
22. Gianluca Brambilla (Ita) Trek-Segafredo
23. Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC
24. Sam Oomen (Ned) Sunweb
25. Alexandre Geniez (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale.

Giro d’Italia Overall After Stage 12:
1. Simon Yates (GB) Mitchelton-Scott in 51:57:55
2. Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Sunweb at 0:47
3. Thibaut Pinot (Fra) Groupama-FDJ at 1:04
4. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Bahrain-Merida at 1:18
5. Richard Carapaz (Ecu) Movistar at 1:56
6. George Bennett (NZ) LottoNL-Jumbo at 2:09
7. Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC at 2:36
8. Pello Bilbao (Spa) Astana at 2:54
9. Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe at 2:55
10. Fabio Aru (Ita) UAE Team Emirates at 3:10
11. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col) Astana at 3:17
12. Chris Froome (GB) Sky at 3:20
13. Ben O’Connor (Aus) Dimension Data at 3:25
14. Carlos Betancur (Col) Movistar at 3:29
15. Sam Oomen (Ned) Sunweb at 3:40
16. Michael Woods (Can) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale at 3:43
17. Maximilian Schachmann (Ger) Quick-Step Floors at 4:01
18. Alexandre Geniez (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale at 4:33
19. Sergio Henao (Col) Sky at 5:08
20. José Gonçalves (Por) Katusha-Alpecin at 5:21
21. Davide Formolo (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe at 6:03
22. Mikel Nieve (Spa) Mitchelton-Scott at 6:32
23. Wout Poels (Ned) Sky at 6:49
24. Valerio Conti (Ita) UAE Team Emirates at 13:07
25. Fausto Masnada (Ita) Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec at 14:09

Giro101giro18latest newsNow on pezRace Newssam bennett