GIRO’18 Stage 13: Vava Voom Viviani!

Race Report: Italian rider Elia Viviani (Quick-Step Floors) won Stage 13 of the 101st Giro d’Italia – 180km between Ferrara and Nervesa della Battaglia. Sam Bennett (Bora-Hansgrohe) and Danny Van Poppel (LottoNL-Jumbo) finished second and third, respectively. Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) remains the race General Classification leader, wearing the Maglia Rosa with Tom Dumoulin (Sunweb) at 47 seconds with Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ) at 1:04.

More points in the bag for Elia Viviani

Nice start in Ferrara

The stage runs across the perfectly flat roads of the eastern Po Valley, from south to north. The route passes through several urban areas, with roundabouts, traffic islands and speed bumps providing the main obstacles. The course takes a first pass over the finish line with 30km to go, and then takes in the Montello ascent along the shallower side. The last climb is cleared 20km before the finish.

Stage 13 – Ferrara-Nervesa della Battaglia 180km; total elevation 500m

Final kilometers
Over the final kilometers, the route runs perfectly flat with just a few bends (the last remarkable bend is 5km before the finish).

The first break of the day went early

The break: Markel Irizar (Trek-Segafredo), Marco Marcato (UAE Team Emirates), Andrea Vendrame (Androni Gioccatoli-Sidermec), Alessandro Tonelli (Bardiani-CSF) and Eugert Zhupa (Wilier Triestina-Selle Italia).

Alessandro Tonelli (Bardiani-CSF) leads the break of the day

The wine should be good this year

Stage 13 was fairly straight and flat

Tony Martin (Katusha-Alpecin) powered the peloton

The break was pulled in with 6 kilometres to go. Marco Coledan (Wilier Triestina-Selle Italia) went for a long solo, but was caught 500 meters from the line. Quick-Steps Floors’ Elia Viviani launched his sprint and held off a fast moving Sam Bennett (Bora-Hansgrohe) who had left it too late. Danny van Poppel (LottoNL-Jumbo) took third place.

The win looked easy for Viviani

Stage winner and Maglia Ciclamino, Elia Viviani (Quick Step Floors): “It’s amazing to be back after a few difficult days. This is what I needed and what my team deserved for the great job they have done. I had two or three bad days but I remained determined to keep the Maglia Ciclamino. Sport is made of dreams, good and bad moments…”

2018 Giro stage win No. 3 for “Il Veggente”

Overall race leader, Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott): “Until the latest possible moment I tried to stay safe. The big guys in the team did a great job just keeping me at the front. It’s been the easiest day we’ve had so far. I’m looking forward to tomorrow.”

Another day in Pink for Simon Yates

Giro d’Italia Stage 13 Result:
1. Elia Viviani (Ita) Quick-Step Floors in 3:56:25
2. Sam Bennett (Irl) Bora-Hansgrohe
3. Danny van Poppel (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo
4. Sacha Modolo (Ita) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale
5. Ryan Gibbons (RSA) Dimension Data
6. Jean-Pierre Drucker (Lux) BMC
7. Manuel Belletti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec
8. Clement Venturini (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale
9. Baptiste Planckaert (Bel) Katusha-Alpecin
10. Jens Debusschere (Bel) Lotto FixAll
11. Guillaume Boivin (Can) Israel Cycling Academy
12. Paolo Simion (Ita) Bardiani-CSF
13. Davide Ballerini (Ita) Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec
14. Enrico Barbin (Ita) Bardiani-CSF
15. Tosh Van Der Sande (Bel) Lotto FixAll
16. Jan Polanc (Slo) UAE Team Emirates
17. Christoph Pfingsten (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe
18. Boy van Poppel (Ned) Trek-Segafredo
19. Liam Bertazzo (Ita) Wilier Triestina-Selle Italia
20. Alex Turrin (Ita) Wilier Triestina-Selle Italia
21. Manuele Mori (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
22. Michael Mørkøv (Den) Quick-Step Floors
23. Quentin Jauregui (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale
24. Roy Curvers (Ned) Sunweb
25. Mirco Maestri (Ita) Bardiani-CSF.

Giro d’Italia Overall After Stage 13:
1. Simon Yates (GB) Mitchelton-Scott in 55:54:20
2. Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Sunweb at 0:47
3. Thibaut Pinot (Fra) Groupama-FDJ at 1:04
4. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Bahrain-Merida at 1:18
5. Richard Carapaz (Ecu) Movistar at 1:56
6. George Bennett (NZ) LottoNL-Jumbo at 2:09
7. Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC at 2:36
8. Pello Bilbao (Spa) Astana at 2:54
9. Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe at 2:55
10. Fabio Aru (Ita) UAE Team Emirates at 3:10
11. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col) Astana at 3:17
12. Chris Froome (GB) Sky at 3:20
13. Ben O’Connor (Aus) Dimension Data at 3:25
14. Carlos Betancur (Col) Movistar at 3:29
15. Sam Oomen (Ned) Sunweb at 3:40
16. Michael Woods (Can) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale at 3:43
17. Maximilian Schachmann (Ger) Quick-Step Floors at 4:01
18. Alexandre Geniez (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale at 4:33
19. Sergio Henao (Col) Sky at 5:08
20. José Gonçalves (Por) Katusha-Alpecin at 5:21
21. Davide Formolo (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe at 6:03
22. Mikel Nieve (Spa) Mitchelton-Scott at 6:32
23. Wout Poels (Ned) Sky at 6:49
24. Valerio Conti (Ita) UAE Team Emirates at 13:07
25. Fausto Masnada (Ita) Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec at 14:09.

Giro101giro18latest newsNow on pezRace Newsviviani