GIRO’18 Stage 3: Double Eilat TelaViviani!

Race Report: The Italian rider, Elia Viviani (Quick-Step Floors) won stage 3 in a bunch sprint from Be’er Sheva to Eilat after 229 kilometers to take his second consecutive stage victory. Sacha Modolo (Team EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale) and Sam Bennett (Bora – Hansgrohe) finished second and third respectively.

Double joy for Viviani

Rohan Dennis (BMC) remains the race General Classification leader and will wear the Maglia Rosa in Sicily on Tuesday’s stage 4. Victor Campenaerts (Lotto FixAll) lost time in the fast final kilometers and so Tom Dumoulin (Sunweb) moved up to second overall at 1 second. Katusha-Alpecin’s José Gonçalves now sits in the third overall place at 13 seconds.

Stage 3

Not the most interesting of Giro d’Italia stages, one thing for sure, it won’t rain. They say the cars in Eilat don’t have windscreen wipers as they are never needed!

All smiles at the start in Be’er Sheva – Pink jersey Rohan Dennis (BMC) and Points leader Elia Viviani

Not the most interesting of back-drops

Memories of Dubai/Qatar/Doha?

The Negev desert

The break of the day – Guillaume Boivin (Israel Cycling Academy), Marco Frapporti (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec) and Enrico Barbin (Bardiani-CSF)

A hot day in the saddle

A busy day for Quick-Step Floors with Max Schachmann in the white jersey and Elia Viviani in the ‘Maglia Ciclamino’

Sam Bennett (Bora-Hansgrohe) led-out the fast final meters into Eilat with Viviani and Sacha Modolo on his wheel. As they closed in on the finish line, the Irishman moved across the road to his right to close the door on the others. Viviani was on the inside as the barrier loomed closer, the Italian had to remind Bennett that he was at his elbow and given the space passed through for the win. Modolo also had the speed to come passed for second as Bennett was lucky not to be relegated for his dangerous sprint.

It was a tough, fast finalé

The stage winner Elia Viviani (Quick-Step Floors): “In the first two hours of racing I felt very bad. The pressure was off after yesterday’s win. But I felt better later on. I have competed in the classics so I was ready for 230km today. We followed our plan. We only missed Sabatini because he had a flat tyre. But the final straight was good for me.”

Two days in a row for the fast Italian

The race leader Rohan Dennis (BMC): “It feels good to retain the Maglia Rosa. It’s been a stressful day though. In the end, it’s been a maximum effort to stay out of trouble and away from the splits. Campenaerts paid the price for his efforts to take the jersey but he did well. In Sicily, I’ll take it day by day and try to stay in pink as long as possible.”

Rohan Dennis takes the pink to Italy

Giro d’Italia Stage 3 Result:
1. Elia Viviani (Ita) Quick-Step Floors 5:02:09
2. Sacha Modolo (Ita) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale
3. Sam Bennett (Irl) Bora-Hansgrohe
4. Jakub Mareczko (Ita) Wilier Triestina-Selle Italia
5. Danny van Poppel (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo
6. Jens Debusschere (Bel) Lotto FixAll
7. Manuel Belletti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec
8. Baptiste Planckaert (Bel) Katusha-Alpecin
9. Mads Pedersen (Den) Trek-Segafredo
10. José Gonçalves (Por) Katusha-Alpecin
11. Kristian Sbaragli (Ita) Israel Cycling Academy
12. Paolo Simion (Ita) Bardiani-CSF
13. Matej Mohoric (Slo) Bahrain-Merida
14. Michael Woods (Can) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale
15. Esteban Chaves (Col) Mitchelton-Scott
16. Simon Yates (GB) Mitchelton-Scott
17. Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Sunweb
18. Viacheslav Kuznetsov (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin
19. Jean-Pierre Drucker (Lux) BMC
20. Davide Ballerini (Ita) Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec
21. Sam Oomen (Ned) Sunweb
22. Tanel Kangert (Est) Astana
23. Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto FixAll
24. Rafael Valls Ferri (Spa) Movistar
25. George Bennett (NZ) LottoNL-Jumbo.

Giro d’Italia Overall After Stage 3:
1. Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC in 9:05:30
2. Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Sunweb at 0:01
3. José Gonçalves (Por) Katusha-Alpecin at 0:13
4. Alex Dowsett (GB) Katusha-Alpecin at 0:17
5. Pello Bilbao (Spa) Astana at 0:19
6. Simon Yates (GB) Mitchelton-Scott at 0:21
7. Maximilian Schachmann (Ger) Quick-Step Floors at 0:22
8. Tony Martin (Ger) Katusha-Alpecin at 0:28
9. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
10. Carlos Betancur (Col) Movistar at 0:29
11. Valerio Conti (Ita) UAE Team Emirates at 0:30
12. Mads Würtz Schmidt (Den) Katusha-Alpecin at 0:31
13. Felix Grossschartner (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe at 0:32
14. Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto FixAll at 0:33
15. Victor Campenaerts (Bel) Lotto FixAll at 0:34
16. Thibaut Pinot (Fra) Groupama-FDJ
17. Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe at 0:35
18. Georg Preidler (Aut) Groupama-FDJ
19. Chris Froome (GB) Sky at 0:38
20. Rafael Valls Ferri (Spa) Movistar at 0:39
21. Diego Ulissi (Ita) UAE Team Emirates at 0:41
22. Victor De La Parte (Spa) Movistar
23. Davide Formolo (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe
24. Sam Oomen (Ned) Sunweb at 0:43
25. Tanel Kangert (Est) Astana at 0:44.

Giro101giro18latest newsNow on pezRace Newsviviani