GIRO’18 Stage 17: Quattro Viviani!

Race Report: Elia Viviani (Quick-Step Floors) won the bunch sprint at the end of the Giro’s stage 17 to take his fourth 2018 Giro stage victory. 155 kilometers from Riva del Garda to Iseo. Sam Bennett (Bora-Hansgrohe) and Niccolò Bonifazio (Bahrain-Merida) finished second and third, respectively. Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) remains the race General Classification leader.

Stage 17 Route:
The stage profile is undulating to begin with. In the second half, the route is more intricate as it passes through several urban areas. After the start, the route runs uphill through two long tunnels leading to Molina di Ledro and Bezzecca, and then it drops towards the province of Brescia. After the Lodrino categorized climb, a technical descent past Polaveno will lead the peloton to Franciacorta. The route continues across a few small towns, with several sharp bends and some level crossings. It then takes a first pass over the finish line in Iseo before entering the final 23.9km circuit.

Stage 17 – Franciacorta Stage (Riva del Garda-Iseo) 155km – total elevation 1,300m

Final kilometers:
The final circuit is very demanding; it is raced on relatively narrow yet well-surfaced roads, often passing through small villages. The last level crossing is 6km before the finish. The final 5km are fairly intricate, as the route takes in a number of roundabouts, including the last (wide) one, approx. 500m before the finish. The home straight (300m) is on 7m-wide asphalt road.

Maglia Ciclamino, sprinter classification leader – Elia Viviani (Quick-Step Floors) receives photo of his stage 2 win at the start of stage 17

Simon Yates – First British born Grand Tour winner?

Nice place for the sign-on – Riva del Garda

The start from Riva del Garda

The break of the day

Lake side from Garda to Iseo

The chase was on

Elia Viviani (Quick-Step Floors) takes it from Sam Bennett (Bora-Hansgrohe) and Niccolo Bonifazio (Bahrain-Merida)

Stage winner, Elia Viviani (Quick-Step Floors): “We knew this could be a very hard stage and it was indeed. There were very strong breakaway riders but Bora controlled. We played a little bit with them. We did it right because it was the second last stage for sprinters and Bennett could have put my Maglia Ciclamino in danger. Once it came down to a bunch sprint, I asked my guys to lead me out. When Van Poppel anticipated the sprint, I knew it was too early. It was actually perfect for me. I could pass him.”

Elia Viviani – Stage win No. 4

Race leader, Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott): “There’s no easy day at the Giro. This was another hard one and it could have some impact on the coming mountain stages. I heard about splits in the bunch but I never knew who was caught behind. I hope everyone is tired because I’m tired.”

Another day in pink for Yates

Giro d’Italia 2018 Stage 17 Result:
1. Elia Viviani (Ita) Quick-Step Floors in 3:19:57
2. Sam Bennett (Irl) Bora-Hansgrohe
3. Niccolo Bonifazio (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
4. Danny van Poppel (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo
5. Jens Debusschere (Bel) Lotto Soudal
6. Kristian Sbaragli (Ita) Israel Cycling Academy
7. Jean-Pierre Drucker (Lux) BMC
8. Sacha Modolo (Ita) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale
9. Andrea Vendrame (Ita) Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec
10. José Gonçalves (Por) Katusha-Alpecin
11. Ryan Gibbons (RSA) Dimension Data
12. Matej Mohoric (Slo) Bahrain-Merida
13. Manuele Mori (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
14. Marco Marcato (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
15. Alexandre Geniez (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale
16. Mirco Maestri (Ita) Bardiani-CSF
17. Francesco Gavazzi (Ita) Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec
18. Quentin Jauregui (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale
19. Fabio Sabatini (Ita) Quick-Step Floors
20. Nico Denz (Ger) AG2R-La Mondiale
21. Sam Oomen (Ned) Sunweb
22. Christoph Pfingsten (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe
23. Michael Mørkøv (Den) Quick-Step Floors
24. Enrico Barbin (Ita) Bardiani-CSF
25. Jarlinson Pantano (Col) Trek-Segafredo.

Giro d’Italia Overall After Stage 17:
1. Simon Yates (GB) Mitchelton-Scott in 69:59:11
2. Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Sunweb at 0:56
3. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Bahrain-Merida at 3:11
4. Chris Froome (GB) Sky at 3:50
5. Thibaut Pinot (Fra) Groupama-FDJ at 4:19
6. Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC at 5:04
7. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col) Astana at 5:37
8. Pello Bilbao (Spa) Astana at 6:02
9. Richard Carapaz (Ecu) Movistar at 6:07
10. George Bennett (NZ) LottoNL-Jumbo at 7:01
11. Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe at 7:13
12. Ben O’Connor (Aus) Dimension Data at 7:33
13. Sam Oomen (Ned) Sunweb at 8:05
14. Carlos Betancur (Col) Movistar at 8:56
15. Alexandre Geniez (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale at 9:48
16. Davide Formolo (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe at 10:03
17. Wout Poels (Ned) Sky at 10:04
18. Michael Woods (Can) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale at 12:17
19. Sergio Henao (Col) Sky at 14:47
20. José Gonçalves (Por) Katusha-Alpecin at 14:51
21. Mikel Nieve (Spa) Mitchelton-Scott at 28:47
22. Mikael Cherel (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale at 29:25
23. Fabio Aru (Ita) UAE Team Emirates at 31:09
24. Sébastien Reichenbach (Swi) Groupama-FDJ at 32:20
25. Hubert Dupont (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale at 34:03.

Giro101giro18latest newsRace News