GIRO’18 Stage 20: Nice One Nieve – Froome Safe In Pink!

Race Report: Spanish rider Mikel Nieve (Mitchelton-Scott) soloed to the 214 kilometer stage 20 win of the Giro d’Italia on Saturday, from Susa to Cervinia. Robert Gesink (Lotto NL-Jumbo) and Felix Grosschartner (Bora-Hansgrohe) finished second and third at over two minutes. Chris Froome (Sky) finished in 7th place with the main group, six minutes after stage winner Nieve, and put 6 seconds into his closest rival for the Maglia Rosa, Tom Dumoulin (Sunweb).

Happy birthday stage win for Mikel Nieve

Simon Yates didn’t look too disappointed at the start

This queen stage across the Alps features a remarkable 4,000m rise and drop, tucked away in the last 90km, where the riders will tackle three climbs amounting to nearly 20km each. The route climbs steadily all the way from Susa towards Turin, and then follows the gentle undulations of the Canavese to reach the Dora Riparia valley. The route then heads from the outskirts of Ivrea to the Aosta Valley to tackle the last 90km. The stage takes in climbs up the Col Tsecore (16km with long stretches exceeding 12% over the last 4km), Col de St-Pantaléon (16.5km at 7.2%) and Cervinia (19km at 5%). The roads are quite wide and well surfaced throughout.

Stage 20 – Susa-Cervinia 214km – total elevation 4,000m

Final kilometers
The route rises all the way to the finish. The steepest stretch is encountered just before Valtournenche and through the town centre. The gradient starts to ease at the 3km mark, with slopes averaging 1.4% over the final 2km. The home straight (450m long on 7m-wide asphalt road) has a 4% gradient. Note that the route passes through two well-lit tunnels during the final 6km.

The start from Susa

The Alpine rivers are in full flow

Thibaut Pinot was in trouble and it was the end of his 2018 Giro hopes

Still a lot of snow in the Alps

Chris Froome had his Sky team around him

Froome was never in trouble during stage 20

Tom Dumoulin put in some strong attacks in the finalé, but it wasn’t enough

A hard win for Mikel Nieve to take

Another win for the Mitchelton-Scott team

Mikel Nieve and a very happy Mitchelton-Scott DS Alvaro Crespi

Stage winner Mikel Nieve (Mitchelton-Scott): “After what happened yesterday, it was very important for our team to make it up with a stage victory. Five stage wins are a lot! I couldn’t have dreamt of a better birthday.”

Chris Froome finished safe and in pink

Job well done by Wout Poels

Tom Dumoulin lost 6 seconds to Froome and look tired

Race leader Chris Froome (Sky): “When Dumoulin attacked, I wasn’t exactly worried but I wanted to stay in control of everything. This Giro is brutal, look at what happened to Pinot today. I sprinted to the finish line to make sure that I retained the Maglia Azzurra as much as the Maglia Rosa.”

Only one stage to go to the finish in Rome

Giro d’Italia Stage 20 Result:
1. Mikel Nieve (Spa) Mitchelton-Scott in 5:43:38
2. Robert Gesink (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo at 2:17
3. Felix Grossschartner (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe at 2:41
4. Giulio Ciccone (Ita) Bardiani-CSF at 3:45
5. Gianluca Brambilla (Ita) Trek-Segafredo at 5:23
6. Wout Poels (Ned) Sky at 6:03
7. Chris Froome (GB) Sky
8. Davide Formolo (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe
9. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
10. Richard Carapaz (Ecu) Movistar
11. Sam Oomen (Ned) Sunweb
12. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col) Astana
13. Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Sunweb at 6:09
14. George Bennett (NZ) LottoNL-Jumbo at 6:45
15. Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe
16. Pello Bilbao (Spa) Astana
17. Alexandre Geniez (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale 0:07:04
18. Carlos Alberto Betancur Gomez (Col) Movistar
19. Hubert Dupont (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale at 8:54
20. Sergio Henao (Col) Sky at 9:42
21. Jan Polanc (Slo) UAE Team Emirates at 10:09
22. Michael Woods (Can) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale
23. Kilian Frankiny (Swi) BMC at 10:53
24. Koen Bouwman (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo at 11:54
25. Sander Armee (Bel) Lotto FixAll.

Giro d’Italia Overall After Stage 20:
1. Chris Froome (GB) Sky in 86:11:50
2. Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Sunweb at 0:46
3. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col) Astana at 4:57
4. Richard Carapaz (Ecu) Movistar at 5:44
5. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Bahrain-Merida at 8:03
6. Pello Bilboa (Spa) Astana at 11:50
7. Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe at 13:01
8. George Bennett (NZ) LottoNL-Jumbo at 13:17
9. Sam Oomen (Ned) Team Sunweb at 14:18
10. Davide Formolo (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe at 15:16
11. Alexandre Geniez (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale at 17:30
12. Wout Poels (Ned) Sky at 17:40
13. Sergio Henao (Col) Sky at 29:41
14. José Gonçalves (Por) Katusha-Alpecin at 34:29
15. Carlos Alberto Betancur Gomez (Col) Movistar at 41:48
16. Thibaut Pinot (Fra) Groupama-FDJ at 43:46
17. Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC at 56:07
18. Mikel Nieve (Spa) Mitchelton-Scott at 58:16
19. Gianluca Brambilla (Ita) Trek-Segafredo at 1:00:30
20. Michael Woods (Can) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale at 1:01:24
21. Hubert Dupont (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale at 1:03:54
22. Simon Yates (GB) Mitchelton-Scott in 1:15:11
23. Sébastien Reichenbach (Swi) Groupama-FDJ in 1:15:18
24. Robert Gesink (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo in 1:19:49
25. Valerio Conti (Ita) UAE Team Emirates in 1:23:04.

chris froomeGiro101giro18latest newsnieveNow on pezRace News