GIRO’18 Stage 21: Bennett Takes Roma – Froome The Giro!

Race Report: Chris Froome (Sky) won the 101st Giro d’Italia, wearing the last Maglia Rosa of race General Classification leader and raising the Trofeo Senza Fine. Tom Dumoulin (Sunweb) and Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana) finished second and third.

Tour, Vuelta and Giro for Chris Froome

During today’s stage the commissaires panel, in accordance with the race directors, decided to neutralize the times after three laps had been completed. Time bonuses have been cancelled for Stage 21. Points were awarded as planned.

Giro stage win No. 3 for Sam Bennett

The Irish rider Sam Bennett (Bora-Hansgrohe) won Stage 21, Roma-Roma of 115km. Elia Viviani (Quick-Step Floors) and Jean-Pierre Drucker (BMC) finished second and third.

It was a late flight for everyone to Roma

Alberto Contador was at the start of the final stage 21

This is the final circuit stage at the heart of the capital. The riders will race 10 loops of an 11.5km circuit on the streets of Rome (wide, with some traffic dividers). Short climbs and descents are interspersed with long straight sections, connected by sometimes tricky bends. The road surface is mostly tarmac, with some stretches over cobblestones (“sanpietrini”).

Stage 21 – Roma-Roma 115km – total elevation 400m

Final kilometers
The route is essentially flat and the roads are wide and straight, with wide bends in the final 3km. The home straight is 700m long, the road is 8m wide and paved with “sanpietrini”, climbing slightly.

The Giro trophy at the start

The start of the final stage of a tough and controversial Giro d’Italia

No hard feeling

A pink glass for Chris Froome and David Brailsford

The victorious Sky team

Tom Dumoulin, Chris Froome and Miguel Lopez on the final podium

Giro winner Chris Froome (Sky): “It’s great to soak up the atmosphere here in Rome. I was surely not disappointed by the crowd and the monuments. I need a bit of time to reflect but this race has been incredible. For any cyclist, it’s a dream to have all three Grand Tour leader’s jerseys. I’m still pinching myself. I can’t believe I’m here in the Maglia Rosa.”

A very successful Giro for Sam Bennett

Stage winner Sam Bennett (Bora-Hansgrohe): “I don’t know how I managed to beat Elia Viviani. I suffered so much over the past few days in the mountains. But my team did a fantastic job to bring the last breakaway back today. It’s fantastic to have won three stages in the Giro but I’ll have to get up tomorrow and focus on further goals, possibly the Irish championship as I’d love to show the national colors on the world stage.”

Giro d’Italia Stage 21 Result:
1. Sam Bennett (Irl) Bora-Hansgrohe in 2:50:49
2. Elia Viviani (Ita) Quick-Step Floors
3. Jean-Pierre Drucker (Lux) BMC Racing Team
4. Baptiste Planckaert (Bel) Katusha-Alpecin
5. Manuel Belletti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec
6. Sacha Modolo (Ita) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale
7. Niccolo Bonifazio (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
8. Clement Venturini (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale
9. Paolo Simion (Ita) Bardiani-CSF
10. Fabio Sabatini (Ita) Quick-Step Floors
11. Jan Polanc (Slo) UAE Team Emirates
12. Enrico Battaglin (Ita) LottoNL-Jumbo
13. Manuele Mori (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
14. Jack Haig (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott
15. Ryan Gibbons (RSA) Dimension Data
16. Sam Bewley (NZ) Mitchelton-Scott
17. Jens Debusschere (Bel) Lotto FixAll
18. Guillaume Boivin (Can) Israel Cycling Academy
19. Michael Mørkøv (Den) Quick-Step Floors
20. Christoph Pfingsten (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe
21. Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
22. Rémi Cavagna (Fra) Quick-Step Floors
23. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
24. Jaco Venter (RSA) Dimension Data
25. Gijs Van Hoecke (Bel) LottoNL-Jumbo.

Giro d’Italia Final Overall Result:
1. Chris Froome (GB) Sky in 89:02:39
2. Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Sunweb at 0:46
3. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col) Astana at 4:57
4. Richard Carapaz (Ecu) Movistar at 5:44
5. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Bahrain-Merida at 8:03
6. Pello Bilbao (Spa) Astana at 11:50
7. Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe at 13:01
8. George Bennett (NZ) LottoNL-Jumbo at 13:17
9. Sam Oomen (Ned) Sunweb at 14:18
10. Davide Formolo (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe at 15:16
11. Alexandre Geniez (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale at 17:30
12. Wout Poels (Ned) Sky at 17:40
13. Sergio Henao (Col) Sky at 29:41
14. José Gonçalves (Por) Katusha-Alpecin at 34:29
15. Carlos Betancur (Col) Movistar at 41:48
16. Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC at 56:07
17. Mikel Nieve (Spa) Mitchelton-Scott at 58:16
18. Gianluca Brambilla (Ita) Trek-Segafredo at 1:00:30
19. Michael Woods (Can) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale at 1:01:24
20. Hubert Dupont (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale at 1:03:54
21. Simon Yates (GB) Mitchelton-Scott at 1:15:11
22. Sébastien Reichenbach (Swi) Groupama-FDJ at 1:15:18
23. Robert Gesink (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo at 1:19:49
24. Valerio Conti (Ita) UAE Team Emirates at 1:23:04
25. Luis León Sanchez (Spa) Astana at 1:23:11.

chris froomeGiro101giro18latest newsNow on pezRace Newssam bennett