What's Cool In Road Cycling

Giro Stage 15: Simoni In Control

The 15th stage of the Giro d’Italia has produced the same result that we’ve seen the whole race, with Gilberto Simoni out front and Stefano Garzelli trying to limit the damage. The gaps are more or less the same 39” (on the Zoncolan it was 34” and 35” at Pampeago), but this time the difference is more important: the race against the clock was the one place where Garzelli was supposed to make up time, instead Simoni increased his lead on GC to 1’58”. Now Garzelli’s race becomes much more difficult, he can no longer simply limit his losses, but must attack the pink jersey in his favorite terrain, the mountains.

Today’s time trial was dominated by one man, the Spaniard Aitor Gonzalez, looking to make up for his so far unimpressive Giro, led from all the time checks to win by 51” over an equally impressive Magnus Backstedt. Sergei Gontchar who always rides well in the Giro TT’s rounded out the podium. Also impressive was the 23 year old Yaraslov Popyvich who took 6th and claimed the 3rd position on GC. Raimondus Rumsas and Marco Pantani both lost big time today, but in a Giro littered with massive mountains these two still have hopes of finishing in a high position in Milan.

It was a bad day for points leader and former pink jersey Alessandro Petacchi who crashed 25 km into the race and lost over 11 minutes. He was taken to the hospital and will decide whether or not to continue the race tommorow morning.

Stage 15 Results

1 Aitor Gonzalez Jimenez (Spa) Fassa Bortolo 54.33 (46.746 km/h)
2 Magnus Backstedt (Swe) Team fakta-Pata Chips 0.51
3 Serguei Gontchar (Ukr) De Nardi-Colpack 1.22
4 Dario Frigo (Ita) Fassa Bortolo 1.23
5 Bogdan Bondariew (Ukr) CCC-Polsat 1.30
6 Yaroslav Popovych (Ukr) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago 1.36
7 Gilberto Simoni (Ita) Team Saeco 1.40
8 Kim Kirchen (Lux) Fassa Bortolo 1.41
9 Sandy Casar (Fra) FDJeux.com
10 Georg Totschnig (Aut) Gerolsteiner 1.52
11 Vladimir Duma (Ukr) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago 2.05
12 Manuel Quinziato (Ita) Lampre 2.07
13 Stefano Garzelli (Ita) Vini Caldirola-SO.DI 2.19
14 Carlos Dacruz (Fra) FDJeux.com 2.28
15 Massimo Codol (Ita) Mercatone Uno – Scanavino 2.31

Overall GC

1 Gilberto Simoni (Ita) Team Saeco 66.41.52
2 Stefano Garzelli (Ita) Vini Caldirola-SO.DI 1.58
3 Yaroslav Popovych (Ukr) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago 4.05
4 Andrea Noe’ (Ita) Alessio 5.16
5 Raimondas Rumsas (Ltu) Lampre 6.11
6 Francesco Casagrande (Ita) Lampre 6.47
7 Georg Totschnig (Aut) Gerolsteiner 6.57
8 Serguei Gontchar (Ukr) De Nardi-Colpack
9.38 9 Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Alessio 9.42
10 Marco Pantani (Ita) Mercatone Uno – Scanavino 10.11
11 Massimo Codol (Ita) Mercatone Uno – Scanavino 12.16
12 Wladimir Belli (Ita) Lampre 12.35
13 Dario Frigo (Ita) Fassa Bortolo 12.45
14 Dariusz Baranowski (Pol) CCC-Polsat 13.50
15 Michele Scarponi (Ita) Domina Vacanze-Elitron 14.23
16 Aitor Gonzalez Jimenez (Spa) Fassa Bortolo 15.32

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.