What's Cool In Road Cycling

Lombardy: It’s Bartoli In Bergamo!

Fassa Bortolo’s Italian “Warrior” Michele Bartoli won today’s Giro di Lombardia in a bunch sprint over fellow Italian Davide Rebellin & Swiss Oscar Camenzind. The winning group was 13 riders strong after 251 km and some tough climbs in the hills around Bergamo in northern Italy.

The final round of this year’s Word Cup, the “Race of the Falling Leaves” proved only a formality to Mapei’s Paulo Bettini, who’s leadership had been threatened by Domo’s Johan Museuw. Museuuw failed to even start today, and the only other excitement in the Cup chase was an outside chance by Saeco’s Astarloa, who could have won the Cup by winning the race today, and Bettini not scoring any points. Bettini scored points in 7 of 10 races, including winning Liege, while Museuuw scored points in only 3 races, but won in Roubaix and HEW. If the World Cup is about beibng competitive all season long, then Bettini is the rightful winner.

Back to Lombardy, the race profile is the hilliest of any Classic, and has many tough climbs that present great escape opportunities. It’s not usual that the race is won in a bunch sprint and perhaps the position in the calendar – after 10 months of racing – makes succesful escapes that much harder.

Bartoli said to Datasport: “This is a victory for the team. They did great work. First Basso, then Casagrande heped make this an exceptional success.”

So the European season is “officially” over – and we saw some of the best Classics battles ever this year. Of course there is still lots of racing in other parts of the globe, so stay tuned to PCN as we continue to bring you the best analysis, news, and opinions in pro cycling…

And check in later this wekend for photos from Lombardy, courtesy of our own Signor Tomasi.

RESULTS – Giro di Lombardia
1. Michele Bartoli (Ita-Fas)
2. Davide Rebellin (Ita-Gst)
3. Oscar Camenzind (Swi-Pho)
4. Marco Serpellini (Ita-Lam)
5. Francesco Casagrande (Ita-Fas)
6. Michael Boogerd (Ned-Rab)
7. Dario Frigo (Ita-Tac)
8. Vladimir Duma (Ukr-Pan)
9. Alexandre Vinokourov (Kaz-Tel)
10. Manuel Beltran Martinez (Spa-Coa)

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.