What's Cool In Road Cycling

Posties At Circuit de la Sarthe

– Reported by Dan Osipow for Tailwind Sports –
Despite rainy conditions, the United States Postal Service Pro Cycling Team’s Floyd Landis and Dave Zabriskie both turned in solid performances in today’s time trial stage of the Circuit de la Sarthe stage race in France, moving Landis into fifth place overall with just one stage remaining. Landis placed second in the nine kilometer race in Angers, just five seconds back of stage winner Jean Nuttli of the French Saint-Quentin Oktos squad, while Zabriskie finished the stage in fifth place, just seven seconds back of Nuttli. In the overall classification, Landis trails Didier Rous of the French Bonjour team by seven seconds.

“What we have seen from both Floyd and Dave is very hopeful,” said Johan Bruyneel, the USPS team’s director sportif. “Dave has been on a very good level recently and today he again showed me some flashes that he can be a big talent. I am really satisfied with the way he is riding right now. Floyd today was very impressive at the end (of the stage). He had basically the same time as Dave at the midpoint of the race and really turned it on over the last part. It was very impressive.

“Both Floyd and Dave are two big talents,” Bruyneel added. “They still need to gain further experience but the potential is definitely there. They have to still learn and keep their eyes open, but in a short period of time, they can reach a very high level, including races like the Tour de France.”

The four day, five stage event finishes tomorrow with a 170.8 kilometer race from Angers to Le Mans.

1. Jean Nuttli, Saint-Quentin Oktos; 9 kms in 11:06
2. Floyd Landis, U.S. Postal Service; at :05
3. Laurent Brochard, Jean-Delatour; at :06
4. Bradley Mcgee, La Francaise des Jeux; at :07
5. Dave Zabriskie, U.S. Postal Service; s.t.
16. Steffen Kjaergaard, U.S. Postal Service; at :18
33. Josй Luis Rubiera, U.S. Postal Service; at :32
36. Victor Hugo Pena, U.S. Postal Service; at :34
43. Roberto Heras, U.S. Postal Service; at :38

1. Didier Rous, Bonjour
2. Mcgee; at :02
3. Arturas Kasputis, Ag2r-Prevoyance; at :04
4. Brochard, Jean-Delatour; at :06
5. Landis; at :07
24. Rubiera; at :50
25. Kjaergaard; s.t.
29. Pena; at :52
33. Zabriskie; at 1:03
50. Heras; at 6:11

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.