What's Cool In Road Cycling

Stage 19: All Armstrong Again

Regnier-Durette / Macon – TT- 50 km

He did it again. Lance kicked everyone’s butts and put his stamp of authority on another Tour de France by winning the final individual TT, in convincing fashion and with the style of a truly deserving champion. He looked more calm and cool than ever as he hammered a 55×11 across the sunny countryside. Bravo Lance.

While not much else changed in the overall standings, we did witness some great rides by riders who showed us they are still willing to fight this losing battle to the end. Bravo peloton.

Lampre’s Lithuanian Tour surprise Raimondas Rumsas was 2nd today, losing 1:10” to Lance over the final 35 km – this after he blistered the first timed section of the race to lead all by 0:17” at the first time check. An awesome ride, and awesome first Tour – let’s hope he’s around next year and not just a flash in the pan like we’ve seen from so many Tour podium finishers before.

Britain’s David Millar put in an inspiring ride today also, leading at most of the time checks, he only slipped into second at the line, then finally to fourth at the end of the day. He does better each year, the fans love him, British cycling needs a hero, so hang in there Dave- you’re on the way up.

Levi Leipheimer had a great day, needing to gain over a minute to get past Heras on gc, and getting the job. He claimed 8th overall in his first Tour de France, and scored his second high placing in as many major Tours. There’s real hope in his consistency and a rider to watch for sure. Bravo to Levi for showing us that you’re for real.

Results Stage 19
1. ARMSTRONG Lance USA USP 1h 03′ 50″
2. RUMSAS Raimondas LTU LAM 00′ 53″
3. BODROGI Laszlo HUN MAP 01′ 06″
4. MILLAR David GBR COF 01′ 14″
6. HONCHAR Serhiy UKR FAS 01′ 43″
7. BELOHVOSCIKS Raivis LAT LAM 02′ 09″
8. BOTERO Santiago COL KEL 02′ 11″
9. BELOKI Joseba ESP ONE 02′ 11″
10. PENA Victor Hugo COL USP 02′ 29″

Overall After Stage 19
1. ARMSTRONG Lance USA USP 78h 34′ 25″
2. BELOKI Joseba ESP ONE 07′ 17″
3. RUMSAS Raimondas LTU LAM 08′ 17″
4. BOTERO Santiago COL KEL 13′ 10″
6. AZEVEDO Josй POR ONE 15′ 44″
7. MANCEBO Francisco ESP BAN 16′ 05″
8. LEIPHEIMER Levy USA RAB 17′ 11″
9. HERAS Roberto ESP USP 17′ 18″
10. SASTRE Carlos ESP CST 19′ 05″

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.