What's Cool In Road Cycling

Stage 5 – If At First You Don’t Succeed

Stage 5 – If At First You Don’t Succeed
Soissons / Rouen 195 km

Try, try again… as the saying goes. Which is exactly what the peloton had in mind today as another small group got away early in the stage, and this time hung on to beat the main bunch. The stage was won in a 5 man sprint by Jan Kirsipuu (Ag2R) over his 4 escape-mates Michael Sandstodt (CSC), Ludo Dierckxsens (Lampre), Stefano Casagrande (Alessio), Christophe Edaleine (Jean Delatour).

The break gained 4’40” before the main bunch took notice and began to reel them in. But by the time the lead was reduced to about 2’30”, a crash in the chase broke up their momentum and probably saved the lives of the breakaway riders. While to peloton took several kilometers to get reorganized, the 5 men at the front continued to work well together, no doubt the result of yesterday’s TTT, and successfully kept their hopes alive to the finish.

The bunch sprint for sixth was led in by Robbie McEwan, over two more Aussies – Baden Cooke and Stuart O’Grady. The crash sent Marco Pinotti to the hospital with facial injuries, while Rik Verbrugghe, suffering badly from some type of health problem, hung on to finish in last place, 13 minutes down.

Overall, not much change, although the top 20 places are all controlled by Once, US Postal, CSC-Tiscali, a result of Wednesday’s TTT.

Be sure to check back through the day for our Tour Pass updates, and more news from the bunch.

Results Stage 5
1. KIRSIPUU Jaan A2R 4h 13′ 33″
2. SANDSTOD Michael CST 00′ 00″
3. DIERCKXSENS Ludo LAM 00′ 00″
4. CASAGRANDA Stefano ALS 00′ 03″
5. EDALEINE Christophe DEL 00′ 08″
6. MC EWEN Robbie LOT 00′ 33″
7. COOKE Baden FDJ 00′ 33″
8. O’GRADY Stuart C.A 00′ 33″
9. ZABEL Erik TEL 00′ 33″
10. HAUPTMAN Andrej TAC 00′ 33″

Results Overall
1. GONZALEZ GALDEANO Igor ONE 19h 05′ 56″
2. BELOKI Joseba ONE 00′ 04″
3. ARMSTRONG Lance USP 00′ 07″
4. JAKSCHE Jorg ONE 00′ 12″
5. OLANO Abraham ONE 00′ 22″
6. HERAS Roberto USP 00′ 25″
7. NOZAL Isidro ONE 00′ 27″
8. AZEVEDO Josй ONE 00′ 28″
9. HINCAPIE George USP 00′ 28″
10. SERRANO Marcos ONE 00′ 30″

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.