What's Cool In Road Cycling

Stage 8 – Racing As It Should Be

Saint-Martin-de-Landelles / Plouay 217.5 km

Dutch tactics ruled on Bastille Day – as we were treated to some great racing in northern France today. The stage was won by Rabobank’s Karsten Kroon in an exciting finale for seven men who escaped with 111 km still to ride. The small group stayed together and well ahead of the man bunch who finished 1’55 behind. The final kilometers of the race were peppered with attacks, as one, then another of the escapees tried his hand at ditching his companions and taking glory on France’s Independence Day. Best positioned for victory were Rabobank with two riders in the break, including 4 time Tour stage winner Erik Dekker, who seems to be recovering nicely from a broken hip suffered in March’s Milan-San Remo.

The 3 French riders in the break – Franck Renier (4th), Sebastion Hinault (5th), and Stephane Auge (6th) were shut out of the medals but 3 Dutch riders, including former paris-Roubaix winner Servais Knven (Domo) in second and Dekker in third place. Eveth place went to Latvian rider Raivis belohvosciks of Lampre.

The main bunch was led in by Robbie McEwan (Lotto) who again beat Telekom’s Green jersey Erik Zabel. The two are now separated by only 1 point in the sprinter’s competition, so keep your eyes on this battle over the next two weeks.

Overall, nothing changed, as the gc contenders save themselves for tomorrow’s 52km time trial, and the real start of this Tour.

Results Stage 8
1. KROON Karsten NED RAB 4h 36′ 52″
2. KNAVEN Servais NED DFF 00′ 00″
3. DEKKER Erik NED RAB 00′ 00″
4. RENIER Franck FRA BJR 00′ 00″
5. HINAULT Sйbastien FRA C.A 00′ 00″
6. AUGE Stйphane FRA DEL 00′ 00″
7. BELOHVOSCIKS Raivis LAT LAM 00′ 00″
8. MC EWEN Robbie AUS LOT 01′ 55″
9. ZABEL Erik GER TEL 01′ 55″
10. COOKE Baden AUS FDJ 01′ 55″

Results Overall – Stage 8
1. GONZALEZ GALDEANO Igor ONE 32h 18′ 46″
2. BELOKI Joseba ONE 00′ 04″
3. JAKSCHE Jorg ONE 00′ 12″
4. OLANO Abraham ONE 00′ 22″
5. NOZAL Isidro ONE 00′ 27″
6. AZEVEDO Josй ONE 00′ 28″
7. SERRANO Marcos ONE 00′ 30″
8. ARMSTRONG Lance USP 00′ 34″
9. HAMILTON Tyler CST 00′ 53″
10. PERON Andrea CST 00′ 53″

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.