What's Cool In Road Cycling

Tour Teams: CSC-Tiscali

– Reported by CSC-Tiscali –
Versatile Line Up for the start in Luxembourg
Team manager, Bjarne Riis, today revealed the names of the nine riders that will be defending the team’s honour in this year’s Tour de France. The nine riders are: Laurent Jalabert, Tyler Hamilton, Carlos Sastre, Nicki Soerensen, Jakob Piil, Michael Sandstoed, Paul Van Hyfte, Andrea Peron and Arvis Piziks.

Alongside Bjarne Riis, Alex Pedersen and Johnny Weltz will be functioning as directeur sportifs.

“We are sending a good team and we have lots of ambitions. It has not been easy to pick only nine because we have had so many talented riders to choose from. Some of the places in the team could have been filled out by other riders but there will also be important races in the autumn where they will be needed. We intend to ride with three captains, Laurent Jalabert, Tyler Hamilton and Carlos Sastre. The line up has been put together in order to fit into that strategy. The other six riders will function as helpers but we will also expect them to take part in breakaways and make results for themselves. We have put a very versatile team together and we expect them to perform well on the team time trial. We will be pursuing both stage wins and the team competition. Jalabert will be chasing stage wins during the first part of the race while Sastre and Hamilton will be protected in order for them to be able to stay close to the top of the general classification.” This was Bjarne Riis’s comment on the team formation that will be arriving in Luxembourg on Wednesday.

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.