What's Cool In Road Cycling

USAPCC ’13 Stage 3 In Photos!

Stage 3 saw another great day of racing in Colorado topped off with yet another Peter Sagan victory and all with a background of simply superb scenery. Our photographer Darrell Parks was on the motorbike today to catch all the action.

Roll out time in downtown Breckenridge.

The peloton passes through a roundabout as they leave town.

The peloton approaches the summit of Swan Mountain which came very early on in the stage.


It was a far from easy day in the saddle but Sagan was well protected by his team all day and had the easiest ride possible into Steamboat Springs.

The weather was good most of the day except for this quick shower which cooled the riders down but it was over almost before it started.

The day’s break hits the long straight roads and rollers as they try to hold off the Garmin led peloton.

Chris Froome and Richie Porte are both a long way off the pace in the GC battle but they seem to be enjoying their time in Colorado.

There’s always work to do for the domestiques.


Jens Voigt was in the break of the day but attacked them solo with 50km still remaining after he felt that the cooperation wasn’t good enough.

Jens put on his suffer face and put in a great ride but it wasn’t enough for the stage win, getting caught just 3km from the line.


Argos-Shimano sent some men to the front to help chase Jens down.

Another day in yellow for Lachlan Morton.

Sagan wins again!

Peter Sagan took a comfortable sprint win at the end ahead of Argos-Shimano’s Luka Mezgec and Optum’s Ryan Anderson.

The leader’s jersey podium after Stage 3.

Stage 3 Results:
1 Peter Sagan (Svk) Cannondale Pro Cycling 4:04:18
2 Luka Mezgec (Slo) Team Argos-Shimano
3 Ryan Anderson (Can) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies
4 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team
5 Alessandro Bazzana (Ita) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team
6 Edwin Alcibiades Avila Vanegas (Col) Colombia
7 Martijn Verschoor (Ned) Team Novo Nordisk
8 Tony Gallopin (Fra) RadioShack Leopard
9 Tanner Putt (USA) Bontrager Cycling Team
10 Damiano Caruso (Ita) Cannondale Pro Cycling

General Classification After Stage 3:
1 Lachlan David Morton (Aus) Garmin-Sharp 11:35:40
2 Mathias Frank (Swi) BMC Racing Team 0:00:02
3 Peter Sagan (Svk) Cannondale Pro Cycling 0:00:11
4 Tejay van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team
5 Lawson Craddock (USA) Bontrager Cycling Team 0:00:18
6 Thomas Danielson (USA) Garmin-Sharp 0:00:29
7 Darwin Atapuma Hurtado (Col) Colombia 0:00:35
8 Damiano Caruso (Ita) Cannondale Pro Cycling 0:00:41
9 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team
10 Tony Gallopin (Fra) RadioShack Leopard

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.