What's Cool In Road Cycling

2013 British Cycling National Track Championships Day 3 Results Round-Up

Results from day three of competition at the National Cycling Centre in Manchester where Jess Varnish impressed with her second title of the week in the British Cycling Women’s Sprint Championships presented by FIAT, World Champion Jason Kenny took the Men’s Keirin title, double Olympic Champion Laura Trott led a clean sweep for Wiggle Honda in the women’s Points Race, Sam Harrison took the men’s Scratch title and Shaun McKeown and Sophie Thornhill and Helen Scott (pilot) took the gold medals in the Para-cycling Pursuit.

British Cycling Women’s Sprint Championships presented by FIAT:
Gold: Jessica Varnish (Team V-Sprint Racing)
Silver: Victoria Williamson (VC Norwich)
Bronze: Katy Marchant

Commenting after her victory, Jess Varnish said:

“I’m really happy with the sprint win because it’s been something I’ve been working on.”

Men’s Keirin:
Gold: Jason Kenny (Sky Track Cycling)
Silver: Matthew Crampton
Bronze: Lewis Oliva (Team USN)

Speaking about the race, new National Keirin Champion, Jason Kenny, said:

“It was nitty gritty on Matt’s (Crampton) wheel in third place. I was just happy to hold station knowing Matt was one of the race favourites.”

“The national Keirin championships is always tight so going to the front quite early on I was a bit of a sitting duck.”

“Lewis (Oliva) went down the inside and pushed me out wide so i had no choice in going to the front.”

Women’s Points Race:
Gold: Laura Trott (Wiggle Honda)
Silver: Dani King (Wiggle Honda)
Bronze: Elinor Barker (Wiggle Honda)

Commenting after the race, Laura Trott said:

“It was really hard, it was a tough race; it’s not like a pursuit, that’s predictable, but in the points people use different tactics so you never know what’s going to happen.”

“You’ve just got to keep concentrating which is hard to do when you’re tired so when I went away with Hayley (Jones) I just thought ‘oh no I’ve got to keep working’ but when I saw they were only a quarter of a lap behind I just sat up and let them come by.”

“I was just letting Dani (King) and Elinor (Barker) fight between them and just come round when I felt like it.”

Men’s Scratch Race:
Gold: Samuel Harrison (100% ME)
Silver: Edward Clancy (Rapha Condor JLT)
Bronze: Steven Burke (Node4-Giordana Racing)

After the race, Sam Harrison said:

“It just kind of happened, my plan was to wait until later on because we all knew Ed (Clancy) was in there and we knew he’d win the sprint.”

“Because the lap was quite early on I was just trying to recover and chase them down at the same time, so I’m really happy that I managed to take the win in the end!”

Para-cycling Pursuit:

BVI Mixed 3000m/4000m:
Gold: Sophie Thornhill (Sportcity Velo) and Helen Scott (pilot) (Performance Cycle Coaching)
Silver: Rhiannon Henry (Para-T CT) and Fiona Duncan (pilot) (Ythan CC)
Bronze: Aileen McGlynn and Lauryn Therin (pilot) (Champion System)

C1-C5 Mixed 3000m/4000m:
Gold: Shaun McKeown (GS Avanti)
Silver: Jon-Allan Butterworth (Performance CC)
Bronze: Jody Cundy (Para-T CT)

Tickets are still available for a selection of sessions across Saturday 28th – Sunday 29th September via Ticketmaster.

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.