What's Cool In Road Cycling

2013 British Cycling National Track Championships Day 5 Results Round-Up

Results from the final day of competition at the National Cycling Centre in Manchester where Jess Varnish completed the perfect week with victory in the women’s Keirin, the North West Region A squad of Matthew Crampton, Kian Emadi and Jason Kenny took the men’s Team Sprint title, Jon Mould won the men’s Omnium, the Wiggle Honda team of Elinor Barker, Dani King, Joanna Rowsell and Laura Trott took gold in the women’s Team Pursuit, Dani King and Laura Trott were victorious in the women’s Madison and Jacob Ragan and Oliver Wood took gold in the junior men’s Madison.

Women’s Keirin:
Gold: Jessica Varnish (V-Sprint Racing)
Silver: Katy Marchant
Bronze: Rachel James (Abergavenny RC)

Men’s Team Sprint:
Gold: North West Region A (Matthew Crampton, Kian Emadi and Jason Kenny) 44.253
Silver: North West Region B (Philip Hindes, Matt Rotherham and Callum Skinner) 44.803
Bronze: Scotland (Jonathan Biggin, Bruce Croall and John Paul) 45.374

Men’s Omnium:
Gold: Jon Mould (Team USN)
Silver: Christopher Latham (100% ME)
Bronze: Christopher Lawless (Kuota-Spinergy-GSG)

Commenting after his victory, Jon Mould said:

“I knew that my strong points were the bunch races so I just got stuck in and stayed right up there and tried to win as much as I could”

“I was weary of there being a crash so I never wanted to go too far back, but when it did happen I was in the right place so I was okay!”

Women’s Team Pursuit
Gold: Wiggle Honda (Elinor Barker, Dani King, Joanna Rowsell and Laura Trott) 4.32.721

After the race Olympic and World Champion Dani King commented on racing in the new women’s Team Pursuit format (four riders over 4000m):

“It’s quite different really, an extra 4 laps, but there’s an extra rider as well so that changes things but we’re learning all the time and think we can only go quicker.”

“We took a similar approach to when we were a three only the changes were different but it’s all about maintaining speed.”

Women’s Madison:
Gold: Dani King and Laura Trott (Wiggle Honda)
Silver: Katie Archibald (City of Edinburgh RC) and Charline Joiner (MG Maxifuel Pro Cycling)
Bronze: Hayley Jones (Node-4 Giordana Racing) and Emily Kay (Scott Contessa Epic)

Male Junior Madison:
Gold: Jacob Ragan (Wheelbase Altura MGD) and Oliver Wood (Team Sportscover)
Silver: Tristan Robbins (Cardiff JIF) and James Shaw (Forme Bikes UK)
Bronze: Tom Arnstein and Mark Stewart (Team ASL 360)

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.