What's Cool In Road Cycling

ALPINE CHALLENGE Prologue and Stage 1

The prologue took place in the early morning Annecy sunshine with most new riders surprised at the brutal intensity of Forclaz climb. Magnus Backstedt took the Giro Cycles Leaders Jersey as he powered up the climb in an amazing 26min14. The actual best time was posted by local Siffointe Morgan in 26min00, but as he was only riding the day as a guest, his times do not count. In the women’s category, previous Alpine Challenge Jersey winner Kelli Bayliss was back with a vengeance to take the prologue from Meg Backstedt and Tamala McGee.

Stage 1 included the brutal Semnoz climb as used in in the 2013 Tour de France. Ranging from 8-12% this climb split the bunch early with 8 riders getting away, and rapidly being reduced to 4, Magnus Backstedt, Dave Dent, Siffointe Morgan and Paul Vine. Working well together with Dave Dent perhaps doing most of the work, Backstedt was dropped with about 2km to go and Paul Vine with about 1km to go to the summit red flag finish. In the womens event, Kelli Bayliss in a solo break held on to the leaders jersey from Rebecca Johnson and Tamala McGee.

Tomorrows Stage 2 is Annecy to Annecy, 115km and 2400m of climbing taking in the Col des Aravis as the Red Section.

The dates for next years event are 9-13 September 2015 with Early Bird entries opening on the 24th September 14:00 BST.

Stage profiles and full details https://www.thealpinechallenge.com/routes_2014.php

Results of the Prologue and Stage 1 held in Annecy, France 4 September 2014

Prologue Annecy-Col de la Forclaz (17.9km 844m. Red section 8.3km)
1. Siffointe Morgan (France) 26:00
2. Magnus Backstedt (Sweden) 26:14 G!RO Cycles Leaders Jersey
3. Dave Dent (UK) 26:21

Siffoint Morgan an Annecy local was only riding Day1 and hence his times do not count towards the G!RO Cycles Leaders Jersey, which was worn by Magnus Backstedt.
1. Kelli Bayliss (Australia) 32:15 G!RO Cycles Leaders Jersey
2. Meg Backstedt (UK) 34:16
3. Tamala McGee (UK) 34:16

Stage 1 Col de la Forclaz-Annecy (120.3km 2544m Red Section 12.2km)
1. Dave Dent (UK) 44:17
2. Siffoint Morgan (France) 44:17
3. Paul Vine (UK) 45:17

1. Kelli Bayliss (Australia) 55:07
2. Rebecca Johnson (USA) 57:22
3. Tamala McGee (UK) 58:40

1. Dave Dent (UK) 1:10:40 G!RO Cycles Leaders Jersey
2. Magnus Backstedt (Sweden) 1:12:01
3. Paul Vine (UK) 1:13:53

1. Kelli Bayliss (Australia) 1:27:24 G!RO Cycles Leaders Jersey
2. Rebecca Johnson (USA) 1:32:22
3. Tamala McGee (UK) 1:32:58

Magnus Backstedt on Stage 1 in G!RO Cycles Leaders Jersey

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.