What's Cool In Road Cycling

André Greipel aims for victory at Scheldeprijs

Wednesday, Lotto Soudal will be standing at the start of the Scheldeprijs. It will be the 105th edition of this Europe Tour sprint classic. Around half past twelve, the peloton will leave Mol for a race of just over 200 kilometres with finish in Schoten. Before the winner will be known, the riders have to cover three local laps of 16.8 kilometres. In those laps the peloton will ride over the cobbles of the Broekstraat (1700 m).

André Greipel will participate in the Scheldeprijs for the fifth time. Last year, he got third behind winner Marcel Kittel and Mark Cavendish. Of course there are several other sprinters on the start list apart from the German champion, including four-time winner Marcel Kittel, Nacer Bouhanni, Arnaud Démare, Dylan Groenewegen, Edward Theuns and Danny Van Poppel. Or can an escapee take the win, twelve years after Thorwald Veneberg?

André Greipel: “I didn’t feel very good yesterday at the Ronde, but I tried my best. I know that I can’t follow the best riders on the climbs, so I need to anticipate to be with them after the climbs. That’s why I attacked a few times yesterday. I proved once again that I can ride the finale of the Ronde, but the result was not what I had hoped for. That goes for the entire team. Wednesday is another race and another opportunity, which we will try to grab with both hands.”

“The Scheldeprijs is a sprint classic and of course it would be nice to add my name to the list of winners. We will do all we can with the team to win the race. I can rely on a good train to take me to the finish. I think it is very unlikely that the race would not end with a bunch sprint. There are a lot of strong sprinters standing at the start who really want to win, while for other riders this race is a preparation on Paris-Roubaix. According to the weather forecast it will stay dry on Wednesday. The chance of crashes is smaller when it doesn’t rain, so I’m glad, but it is no guarantee.”

Line-up Lotto Soudal:
Lars Bak, Tony Gallopin, André Greipel, Moreno Hofland, Nikolas Maes, Jürgen Roelandts, Marcel Sieberg and Jelle Wallays.

Sports directors: Herman Frison and Frederik Willems.

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.