What's Cool In Road Cycling

Cape Rouleur 2015 – Final Results

An exciting week of cycling was closed off today with 100 Cape Rouleur 2015 riders taking part in the Cape Town Cycle Tour. Due to the fires which still burn in parts of the city the ride was shortened to 47km due to safety concerns – however the atmosphere wasn’t dampened and Cape Rouleur riders “rode in solidarity” with the Cape Town Fire Fighters.

With temperatures reaching 50C during stage 2 it has been an eventful week for Cape Rouleur riders. After 4 days of cycling, over 6000m of climbing and 600km riders were welcomed at the Cape Town Waterfront by friends and family as well as some cycling greats including Phil Liggett and MTN-Qhubeka Team Principal Doug Ryder.

The final results were as follows:

360NE Asset Management yellow (leader’s) jersey –pro:
Nicholas Dlamini, SA (MTN-Qhubeka)
360NE Asset Management yellow (leader’s) jersey – amateur:
Ryan Visser, UK

360NE Asset Management pink (women’s) leader’s jersey:
Sophie Coleman, UK

360NE Asset Management green (sprinter’s) jersey- pro:
Graeme Ockhuis, SA (MTN-Qhubeka)
360NE Asset Management green (sprinter’s) jersey – amateur:
James Louter, SA (Qhubeka)

360NE Asset Management green (climber’s) jersey- pro:
Nicholas Dlamini, SA (MTN-Qhubeka)
360NE Asset Management red (climber’s) jersey – amateur:
Rico Bence, SA

Master Men – Jerone Walters, AUS
Grand Master Men – Bob Lyons, UK

Master Women – Michelle Blesto, UK
Grandmaster Women – Jacqueline Ward, UK

Team Competition – Qhubeka

The “Spirit Of” awards recognise a rider from each group as nominated by the HotChillee Ride Captains:

Group 1 – Emmanuel Fourton, FRA
Group 2 – Grant Whiteside, UK
Group 3 – Ben Holden, UK
Group 4 – Julia Skea, SA

Next years edition of the Cape Rouleur takes place on the slightly earlier dates of 28 February – 3 March 2016. Riders will once again be able to close off the week with riding the Cape Town Cycle Tour on the 6 March.

2016 entries will open on Monday 9 March at 2pm UK time on the web site www.caperouleur.com.

cape15-winners-620Mayor of Stellenbosch Conrad Sidego and the Cape Rouleur 2015 jersey winners

cape15-ligget-620MTN-Qhubeka Team Principal Doug Ryder, “The Voice of Cycling” Phil Liggett and HotChillee founder Sven Thiele at the finish of the Festival Ride

cape15-1-620MTN Qhubeka feeder team at finish of the Festival Ride


Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.