What's Cool In Road Cycling

Classica da Arrabida Includes Tough Finish

Dirt, gravel and a pothole-riddled road await the Axeon Hagens Berman Cycling Team in the final three kilometers of Classica da Arrabida in Portugal.

The eight riders who will line up for Sunday’s race got a good look at the uphill finish during a reconnaissance ride earlier this week.


Neilson Powless is part of the Axeon Hagens Berman Cycling Team’s eight-rider roster for Sunday’s race in Portugal. (Photo courtesy: Volta ao Alentejo.)

“It is going to be hard,” said Logan Owen, winner of a stage of Volta ao Alentejo last month. “Lots of rough roads – like a mini Strade Bianche (an Italian WorldTour race) – and gravel, dirt roads as you climb into the town. Then you turn onto cobbles for a kilometer or a kilometer-and-a-half to the finish. It is going to be tough.”

There are also five categorized climbs – all in the last 70 kilometers of the 176.3-kilometer race.
Axeon Hagens Berman’s roster will resemble the lineup which captured the team classification last month at Volta ao Alentejo. Six of eight riders return: Will Barta, Eddie Dunbar, Chris Lawless, Ivo Oliveira, Owen and Neilson Powless. Replacing Adrien Costa and Jhonatan Narvaez are Ivo Oliveira’s twin brother, Rui, and American Chad Young.

For the first time this year, the Oliveira brothers will compete together in a road race in their home country. In January, Ivo rode away with three of four national elite titles on the track while Rui earned the silver medal in the scratch race to go along with a bronze he earned in the omnium.

Sunday’s race begins at 5:30 a.m. EST/2:30 a.m. PST (11:30 a.m. CET). Expected finish time is 9:56 a.m. EST/6:56 a.m. PST (3:56 p.m. CET). It will not be televised.

Axeon Hagens Berman Cycling Team Roster:
Riders: Will Barta (USA), Eddie Dunbar (IRE), Chris Lawless (GBR), Ivo Oliveira (POR), Rui Oliveira (POR), Logan Owen (USA), Neilson Powless (USA), Chad Young (USA).

Sport Director: Koos Moerenhout (NED).

About Axeon Hagens Berman
The Axeon Hagens Berman Cycling Team represents the next generation of professional cyclists. Founded in 2009 by former professional cyclist and Olympic bronze medalist Axel Merckx, we are cycling’s premier development program. Through our first eight seasons, we have advanced 21 riders to the WorldTour ranks. Axeon Hagens Berman team and staff work diligently to ensure our program remains the best. Through careful rider selection, instruction and guidance, we annually achieve winning results for a vibrant and original brand that represents the future of the sport. We give future stars their shot to ride against WorldTour teams and prove themselves. #PROVEIT

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.