What's Cool In Road Cycling

Duarte leads the Escarabajos at Fleche Brabançonne

Duarte leads the Escarabajos at Fleche Brabançonne

Chances for Avila and Arango in France at GP Denain

The biggest fixtures of the first half of the season are getting close for Team Colombia, and after the joy for the National title won by Miguel Angel Rubiano, the Escarabajos are headed to Belgium for a “dry run” of the two big Ardennes Classics waiting for them a week later – Fleche Wallonne and Liege-Bastogne-Liege.

On Wednesday April 16th, Team Colombia will be at the start of Fleche Brabançonne, where Fabio Duarte – after some days of altitude training on Passo Maniva – will try to replicate the solid display from two seasons ago, when he showed up strong in the finale and got 4th to the line.

On the 203 km way from Leuven to Overijsse, punctuated with short and steep climbs and short cobbled stints, Duarte will be joined by teammates Edward Diaz, Duber Quintero, Jeffry Romero, Rodolfo Torres, Edwin Avila and Juan Esteban Arango.

Chances out for sprinters on Thursday April 17th in France, at GP Denain – Porte de Hainaut, where the same 7-man line-up will start for 202 km around Denain. Team Colombia’s pistards Edwin Avila and Juan Esteban Arango will look to be at the sharp end when it matters most.

Valerio Tebaldi will be the Team’s Sports Director for both races: “Duarte gave a strong display at Fleche Brabançonne 2 years ago, he likes this race and I expect him to make another good performance. He has been working hard in the last few weeks, focusing on the Giro, and I think he is nearing his top condition. It will be good to see what Edward Diaz will be able to do on his Belgian debut, particularly on cobbles: he definitely has the physical structure to deal with them.”

“In Denain, we will be looking for some responses from Avila and Arango, who have been back to the road for three weeks now: in the last 10 years, this race always came down to a mass sprint, and we expect them to take part to the dash.”

Fleche Brabançonne – GP Denain (April 16-17)

Line-up: Juan Esteban Arango, Edwin Avila, Edward Diaz, Fabio Duarte, Duber Quintero, Jeffry Romero, Rodolfo Torres

Sports Director: Valerio Tebaldi.

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.