What's Cool In Road Cycling

OPQS to Trofeo Mallorca

Omega Pharma – Quick-Step Cycling Team has announced the selection that will participate in Trofeo Mallorca, a race from February 9th until February 12th. Trofeo Mallorca — a series of back-to-back one-day races — includes 116km Trofeo Palma, which leaves the possibility for a sprint with only two Category 4 climbs in the earlier part of the race. Trofeo Ses Salines (183km) is a more undulating race, with four Category 4 climbs. Trofeo Serra de Tramuntana, which is 152.9km, will certainly favor the climbers. The race includes two category 2 and Category 3 climbs apiece, as well as Category 1 Col de Puig Major late in the race. Finally, 162km Trofeo Platja de Muro ends with a descent into a flat finish, but there are four Category 2 climbs in the middle of the race that will likely cause some chaos in the peloton.

“We’ve been here in Mallorca with a group of athletes since January 29th,” explains Sport Director Tom Steels. ”Here there are perfect roads for training on flats and in the mountains. For the moment the training has been going really well, and the weather has been cooperating. We also took advantage of the presence of some athletes to carry out specific tests with Specialized regarding the position of our athletes on the time trial bikes. As far as the race, it will be a perfect test to verify the work we’ve been doing to speed up the legs after an important training block. The first two stages are fairly flat and suited to sprinters, while the last two are more complicated from an altimetry profile. Here we have a group of athletes that can do well in all four fractions. For the first two stages we can count on Gianni Meersman, Matteo Trentin and Julian Alaphilippe, while the uphill stages will be a good test for riders like Michal Kwiatkowski, Thomas De Gendt and Rigoberto Uran. Rigoberto has just arrived from Columbia and so he will have to find his rhythm. At this race we arrive with 12 riders, as we will have some turnover in the 10 we choose for each race in function of the parcours. Collectively we’re a good squad, we can do well.”

09.02–12.02 Trofeo Mallorca (ESP) 1.1

Riders Julian Alaphilippe (FRA)
Gianluca Brambilla (ITA)
Thomas De Gendt (BEL)
Michal Golas (POL)
Michal Kwiatkowski (POL)
Gianni Meersman (BEL)
Serge Pauwels (BEL)
Pieter Serry (BEL)
Zdenek Stybar (CZE)
Matteo Trentin (ITA)
Rigoberto Uran Uran (COL)
Petr Vakoc (CZE)

Sports Director Jan Schaffrath (GER)
Tom Steels (BEL).

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.