What's Cool In Road Cycling

OPQS to UCI World TTT Championship, GP de Wallonie

Omega Pharma – Quick Step has officially announced the selection that will participate in the World Championship Team Time Trial race being held next Sunday in Italy.

“The team will be perfectly captained by Tony Martin, current World Champion in this specialty, and we will also be able to count on the same structure that made up the winning team in the 2012 World Championships: Sylvain Chavanel, Niki Terpstra, Peter Velits and Kristof Vandewalle,” Sport Director Tom Steels said. “Michal Kwiatkowski is the team’s new entry. The two backup riders will be Julien Vermote and Zdenek Stybar.”

“With the exception of Tony Martin, the team will participate in Wednesday’s GP de Wallonie, which will be an important event that will help them recover quicker from their jet lag after their return from Canada,” Steels continued. “It will also be a good chance to put in a final intensive effort before flying off to Florence. Fortunately, Kwiatkowski only has a few scrapes to his right side and right elbow as consequence of yesterday’s crash and Vandewalle has resolved some small problems after the crash in the Vuelta. On Thursday the squad will meet up in Montecatini and starting that afternoon they will be doing a workout on the route. It will be important to memorize the route and the curves immediately. Until now the preparation has been going well. We carried out some tests in Zolder a few weeks ago and we collected some important information by doing a recon with our technical staff. Of course, the road will ultimately decide the race, but our goal will definitely be to defend the title we captured last year using all of our forces.”


On Friday, September 20, at 6:30 p.m. the team will be available to journalists prior to the race at Hotel Bellavista Palace, Viale Fedele Fedeli, 2, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Pistoia, Italy.

To participate in the media meeting please contact:

Alessandro Tegner

18.09 Grand Prix de Wallonie (BEL) 1.1

Riders Gianluca Brambilla (ITA)
Sylvain Chavanel (FRA)
Bert Grabsch (GER)
Michal Kwiatkowski (POL)
Nikolas Maes (BEL)
Niki Terpstra (NED)
Kristof Vandewalle (BEL)
Peter Velits (SVK)
Carlos Verona (ESP)

Sports Director Tom Steels (BEL)

Length 203.1 km
Start 11:55
Finish 17:09

22.09 TTT World Championships (ITA)

Riders Sylvain Chavanel (FRA)
Michal Kwiatkowski (POL)
Tony Martin (GER)
Niki Terpstra (NED)
Kristof Vandewalle (BEL)
Peter Velits (SVK)

Sports Director Davide Bramati (ITA)
Wilfried Peeters (BEL)
Jan Schaffrath (GER)
Tom Steels (BEL)

Length 57.2 km
Start 14:00
Finish 17:10

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.