What's Cool In Road Cycling

Provisional Start List of La Vuelta 2018

The 73rd edition of La Vuelta will, once again, feature today’s biggest cycling stars in its peloton. 176 riders, divided into 22 teams, will line-up at the official start on Saturday the 25th of August in Malaga, and fight for “La Roja”, the leader’s red jersey that will crown the winner of the race’s general classification.

Four winners of La Vuelta will be in contention again this year: Alejandro Valverde (MOV), Vincenzo Nibali (TBM), Fabio Aru (UAE) and Nairo Quintana (MOV). But they will not be the only top riders in the pack: Richie Porte (BMC), Rigoberto Urán (EFD), Mikel Landa (MOV), Ilnur Zakarin (TKA), Wilco Kelderman (SUN), Adam and Simon Yates (MTS), Steven Kruijswijk (TLJ), Daniel Martin (UAE), Miguel Ángel López (AST) or Thibaut Pinot (GFC) will also be fighting for the glory in Madrid. Team Sky, will try to extend its domination in the Grand Tours with David de la Cruz and Michal Kwiatkowski.

The world’s eyes will be fixed on stage hunters, sprinters and climbers, who would also try to get their piece of the cake, particularly Peter Sagan and Rafal Majka (BOH), Ion and Gorka Izagirre (TBM), Omar Fraile (AST), Rohan Dennis (BMC), Elia Viviani (QST), Pello Bilbao (AST), Nacer Bouhanni (COF), Enric Mas (QST) or Matteo Trentin (MTS), recently proclaimed European Champion.

More information about La Vuelta 18: www.lavuelta.com

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.