What's Cool In Road Cycling

Santos Festival: The Unbeatable Blake Quick

Australia’s best U23 cyclist, Blake Quick, is at it again. The InForm TMX MAKE team member started the most anticipated Australian competition in his best form. Quick began the 2022 Santos Festival of Cycling with a comfortable win on the men’s Trek Night Riders Criterium. While you’re at it, why not try out the live casino at Casumo? They have all the best live titles to entertain you, including blackjack, baccarat, and roulette

Men’s Criterium

The cyclist was right after his teammate Brenton Jones before passing him on the final corner with a sprint. The U23 and Lexus of Blackburn Bay Crits champion place first, surpassing Jensen Plowright and Cameron Scott from Team Westpac and ARA Pro Racing Sunshine Coast, respectively.

The Criterium circuit, measuring 1.35 km, marks the beginning of the Santos Festival. Riders tried their hardest at the 45 minutes plus one lap race.

The first spring after five laps was taken by Steven Robb of Cycle House Racing. He then reduced his pace, allowing the 2021 U19 champion Dylan George from Team Garmin to comfortably take the second sprint at 10 laps.

With three laps to the finish, Carter Turnbull, Quick’s teammate, lost to Rohan Dennis. Ultimately, the race ended with Blake pushing hard on the final 150m, allowing the Inform team to take the win.

Stage 2 and 3

Stage two went just like you’d expect, with another impressive run by Blake Quick. The rider managed to snatch the final sprint, winning the stage. Blake deeply thanked his team for keeping him out of the wind, allowing the drop off at the perfect time.

Right after Quick was Jensen Plowright. However, the cyclist was penalized thanks to a miscalculated spring, ending in the back of the table. This meant the second spot was up for grabs by Cameron Scott.

Just behind came Ben Hill from CCS Cycling, the jersey wearer. This allowed him to get closer to James Whelan, the overall leader in the men’s competition. Whelan had also lost a huge gap for slipstreaming.

The 112.9 km race began with a quick attack from Rohan Dennis. At the mountain, Hill was taking the lead with a one minute advantage.

Later on, Ben Dyball, Dylan Sunderland, Robert Parker, Tom Chester, Torben Partridge-Madsen and Carter Bettles pushed together until the last 30 km. Ultimately, Sunderland, Dyball, and Bettles managed to push ahead, splitting the group.

The lead was maintained until the last 12 km, with a strong attack by Dennis. However, in the final straight, Quick managed to fight his way through the spring, taking the first position.

The U23 champion rider wasn’t the luckiest in the third stage, ending in 90th in the overall and 19th on the Young Rider scoreboard.

Australian Cycling Betting

Casumo is the place to go if you’re looking to bet on the top Australian cycling tournaments and competitions. Find all your favourite young riders, including Blake Quick and Dylan George.





Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.