What's Cool In Road Cycling

World Class Field Announced for Il Lombardia

The end of season monument race will see many of the competitors from last week’s UCI Road World Championships taking to the start line, alongside other cycling aces.

Announcing the list of teams and principal riders competing in the 108th Il Lombardia, from Como to Bergamo across 254km. The UCI WorldTour race will be organised by RCS Sport/La Gazzetta dello Sport on Sunday 5th October.

At the Bergamo finish line the challenge will be on between the new UCI Road World Champion, Michal Kwiatkowski, and the other Ponferrada protagonists, including Alejandro Valverde, Philippe Gilbert, Tony Gallopin and Fabio Aru. The other big names taking part are Joaquim Rodriguez, winner of the last two editions of the race, Alberto Contador, winner of the recent Vuelta a España and French riders Jean Christophe Peraud and Thibaut Pinot, respectively second and third in the overall classification at this year Tour de France.

Taking in over 3,000m of climbing, the race will start in Como, the autumn classic will take in the villages of Cantù, Erba, Asso and Onno before hitting Bellagio at 58km and the start of the Madonna del Ghisallo (754m), a beautiful and challenging 10.6km climb with gradients over 14 per cent.

The race will then continue through Asso, Pusiano, Oggiono, Galbiate and the first feeding zone at Pescate before the Alta Brianza and Meratese areas and into the Bergamo province in Calusco d’Adda.

After a first passage through the city of Bergamo, the race will begin a loop back with a series of testing climbs that will decide the final winner.

Riders will then face the Colle dei Pasta (413m), Colle Gallo (763m) and, after the second feeding zone in Cene, the Passo di Ganda (1060m), which featured in the 18th stage of Giro 2011.

After a fast descent through Selvino and Rigosa towards the bottom of the valley, the road will climb back towards Bracca (600m) and take in the technical descent towards Zogno and Brembilla. Riders will then begin the classic climb of Berbenno (695m), just 26km from the finish.

A fast descent towards Almenno San Salvatore takes the riders through Almè and back to Bergamo to face the final kilometres through the old Città Alta to the finish on the Sentierone.

The route to the finish line climbs towards Bergamo Alta, entering at Porta Garibaldi, up the Boccola ascent and its 200m of cobblestones towards Largo Colle Aperto, a climb that doesn’t drop below 10%, and includes peaks of 12%. The final descent is wide with a flat surface.

The final two kilometres takes in three technical turns, a 90 degree bend at 1800m with the road narrowing under Porta Sant’Agostino, a left turn at 1000m and at 250m from the line, driving towards the grand finale.

25 teams, 18 UCI ProTeams and 7 wildcards will start, each with 8 riders:
AG2R LA MONDIALE (FRA) – Peraud and Betancur
ASTANA PRO TEAM (KAZ) – Aru and Scarponi
BARDIANI CSF (ITA) – Battaglin and Pirazzi
BELKIN-PRO CYCLING TEAM (NED) – Kelderman and Mollema
BMC RACING TEAM (USA) – Gilbert and Van Garderen
CAJA RURAL – SEGUROS RGA (ESP) – L.L. Sanchez and Arroyo
CANNONDALE (ITA) – Basso and De Marchi
COLOMBIA (COL) – Duarte and Quintero
FDJ.fr (FRA) – Pinot and Roy
GARMIN SHARP (USA) – Hesjedal and Martin
IAM CYCLING (SUI) – Brandle and Pineau
LAMPRE-MERIDA (ITA) – Rui Costa and Bono
LOTTO BELISOL (BEL) – Gallopin and Wellens
MOVISTAR TEAM (ESP) – Valverde and Visconti
NERI SOTTOLI (ITA) – Ponzi and Taborre
ORICA GreenEDGE (AUS) – Albasini and Yates
TEAM EUROPCAR (FRA) – Gautier and Cousin
TEAM GIANT-SHIMANO (NED) – Barguil and Dumoulin
TEAM KATUSHA (RUS) – Rodriguez and Moreno
TEAM NETAPP – ENDURA (GER) – Konig and Machado
TEAM SKY (GBR) – Cataldo and Swift
TINKOFF-SAXO (RUS) – Contador and Zaugg
TREK FACTORY RACING (USA) – F. Schleck and Arredondo

2004 – Damiano Cunego (ITA)
2005 – Paolo Bettini (ITA)
2006 – Paolo Bettini (ITA)
2007 – Damiano Cunego (ITA)
2008 – Damiano Cunego (ITA)
2009 – Philippe Gilbert (BEL)
2010 – Philippe Gilbert (BEL)
2011 – Oliver Zaugg (SUI)
2012 – Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP)
2013 – Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP)


Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.