What's Cool In Road Cycling
Innsbruck - Austria - wielrennen - cycling - cyclisme - radsport - Hirschi Mark (SUI( pictured during the World Championships - roadrace men Under 23 - espoirs - between Kufstein and Innsbruck (174,3 KM) - photo Dion Kerckhoffs/Cor Vos © 2018

WORLDS’18 U23 MEN’S RR: Hirschi Takes Solo Gold For Switzerland!

PeloPics: Marc Hirschi (Switzerland) soloed his way to the Men’s Under 23 Road Race rainbow jersey in the World Championships in Innsbruck on Friday afternoon, adding to his European title. Bjorg Lambrecht (Belgium) out-sprinted his breakaway companion, Jaakko Hanninen (Finland), for 2nd at the end of a tough 174,3 kilometers.

Men’s Under 23 Road Race World champion – Marc Hirschi

European champion, Marc Hirschi, dropped his two break companions on the descent of the Igls climb to solo the final 10 kilometers to the finish. The Suisse rider soon opened a gap of 10 seconds on Bjorg Lambrecht and Jaakko Hanninen and extended the lead to 15 second by the time he reached the finish line. Lambrecht got the better Hanninen for silver.

Hirschi took his chance

Lambrecht and Hanninen couldn’t catch Hirschi

Solo win for Marc Hirschi

Lambrecht took the sprint for 2nd ahead of Hanninen

World U23 road champion, Marc Hirschi (Suisse): “We were really strong throughout the race as a team. We knew the descent well, but thought it would be too easy to attack and make the difference there. I knew I could win from a sprint in a small group, but I decided to attack because of the tailwind and corners in the final kilometers. Throughout the race I was always in the perfect groups and had enough energy left for the final. I can’t believe it, it’s amazing.”

Men’s U23 podium: Bjorg Lambrecht (2nd) – Marc Hirschi (1st) – Jaakko Hanninen (3rd)

# See the World Men’s Road Race PEZ Preview HERE. #

World Championships U23 Men’s Road Race Result:
1. Marc Hirschi (Sui) in 4:24:05
2. Bjorg Lambrecht (Bel) at 0:15
3. Jaakko Hanninen (Fin)
4. Gino Mader (Sui) at 0:35
5. Mark Padun (Ukr) at 0:37
6. Jaime Castrillo Zapater (Spa) at 0:45
7. Tadej Pogacar (Slo) at 0:47
8. Etahn Hayter (GB)
9. Patrick Muller (Sui)
10. James Shaw (GB)
11. Jai Hindley (Aus)
12. Clement Champoussin (Fra)
13. Aurelien Paret Peintre (Fra) at 1:06
14. Georg Zimmermann (Ger)
15. Aleksandr Vlasov (Rus) at 1:07
16. Samuele Battistella (Ita)
17. Robert Stannard (Aus) at 2:48
18. Stefan De Bod (RSA) at 3:21
19. Alessandro Fedeli (Ita)
20. Edward Dunbar (Irl) at 3:23
21. Mikkel Frolich Honore (Den) at 3:46
22. Tobias S Foss (Nor)
23. Lennard Kamna (Ger) at 3:50
24. Andrea Bagioli (Ita)
25. Neilson Powless (USA) at 4:28.

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.