What's Cool In Road Cycling
Race News

Le Tour Stage 5 Takeaways

Spencer Martin of Beyond the Peloton breaks down what really happened in the chaotic stage 5 of the 2022 Tour de France from Lille to Arenberg. The brutal pave, better known as the protagonist in Paris-Roubaix, again played the leading role in the action.

TOUR’22 Stage 5: Clarke’s Cobbled Chaos!

At the end of a chaotic day on the cobbles of northern France, the early break fought for the stage win. Simon Clarke took the stage honours as Wout van Aert held the yellow jersey by 13 seconds as the Jumbo-Visma team had its worst day on the 2022 Tour de France.

TOUR’22 Stage 4: JUMBO Attacks – Wout Gets His Win!

After his second places on all the stages so far in the 2022 Tour de France, Wout van Aert attacked with just over 11 kilometres to go for a solo win in Calais. The yellow jersey held off the peloton as Jasper Philipsen won the bunch sprint ahead of Van Aert's Jumbo-Visma teammate, Christophe Laporte.

TOUR’22 Rest Day #1: Paint Dry Three Days!

The amount of spectators on the roadside in Denmark for the first three stages of the 2022 Tour de France was phenomenal, pity the same can't be said of the racing. Ed Hood runs his cynical eye over the action so far and the implications for the three weeks to come.

TOUR’22 Stage 3: Grand Groenewegen!

After a long solo break by local KOM, Magnus Cort, the stage came down to a bunch sprint in Sønderborg. It was a fast run-in at over 60 kph and after the usual jostling and bumping, Dylan Groenewegen pushed his wheel over the finish-line just ahead of the yellow jersey of Wout van Aert.

TOUR’22 Stage 2: Fabulous Fabio – Wout in Yellow!

Fabio Jakobsen gave Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl their second stage win out of two with a chaotic sprint in Nyborg. The predicted split on the big bridge on the run-in didn't materialise and the bunch thundered into the finalé. Wout van Aert was second on the stage to move into the yellow jersey.

TOUR’22 Stage 1: First Yellow for Lampaert!

Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl's Yves Lampaert upset the usual TT men to win the first stage of the 2022 Tour de France and take the first yellow jersey. The Belgian bettered Wout van Aert, Tadej Pogačar, top TT favourite Filippo Ganna and Mathieu van der Poel, in that order.

TOUR’22 BREAKDOWN: Tour de France Cheat-Sheet

Stage 1 of the 2022 Tour de France will roll down the star ramp in Copenhagen for a technical 13 kilometer time trial on Friday. Spencer Martin gives us his 'Tour de France Cheat-Sheet' with Route Takeaways, Wout van Aert's green jersey predictability, stage 1 preview and the rider betting odds.

TOUR’22 The PEZ PREVIEW: The Battle of the Slovenians?

It's July, so that only means one thing... The Tour de France! The biggest bike race on the globe starts in Copenhagen this year before it visits the cobbles, the Alps and the Pyrenees before the Champs-Élysées finish-line. Ed Hood gives us his preview of the French behemoth - His Tour history, course and riders.