What's Cool In Road Cycling

GIRO’22 Final Stage 21: Jai Hindley Makes Giro and Australian History!

Matteo Sobrero wins the final TT

Giro Final Stage 21 Race Report: There were no problems for Jai Hindley in the final Giro d’Italia time trial, finishing in the splendor of Verona’s Roman Arena (Pez was there himself for 2010 final TT). The Australian matched Richard Carapaz to hold his lead of over one minute. Mikel Landa also kept his third podium place. Italian time trial champion, Matteo Sobrero beat Thymen Arensman and Mathieu van der Poel for the stage win.

Watch the most comprehensive live & ad-free coverage of the Giro d’Italia 2022 on GCN+. Go deeper and get interactive with live polls & quizzes, plus rider profiles, race updates, results & more – plus stream original and exclusive cycling documentaries. Watch it all with GCN+ on any device.

Stage 21

jai Hindley centre stage

Jai Hindley won the 2022 Giro d’Italia, his and Australia’s first Giro overall win. The leader of BORA-hansgrohe captured the pink jersey on the Passo Fedaia on Saturday and held his ground in the final time trial to Verona on Sunday. Richard Carapaz was second and Mikel Landa third in the final overall. The 17.4 kilometre time trial in Verona was won by Matteo Sobrero, ahead of Thymen Arensman and Mathieu van der Poel.

Jai Hindley warming up for the TT

The Route:
The first rider to start was Roger Kluge (Lotto Soudal). The last one was the Maglia Rosa Jai Hindley (BORA-hansgrohe). An individual time trial on the Torricelle Circuit (the same as in the World Championships), covered counter-clockwise. The first part is on broad, straight boulevards. It is followed by a sloping ascent for 4.5km at 5%, in a series of steps and on narrower roadway. Split time is taken past the Torricella Massimiliana summit. The route then descends for 4km, still on wide and straight roads. The last 3km along the city streets, with some sharp bends, lead all the way to the finish in Piazza Bra and the Verona Arena.


Final kilometres
The final kilometres are on broad, straight urban avenues. The final time is taken in Piazza Bra, before entering the Arena.

A strong ride by Affini

Roger Kluge was the first to leave the start house for his individual time trial through Verona of 17.4 kilometres, with the Torricella Massimiliana at halfway, a 4.5 kilometre climb at 4.6%. Pieter Serry was the first rider to finish, as he had passed Kluge on the route.

Magnus Cort took the hot-seat, but not for long

The early starters had to contend with a wet road surface in some places due to the rain, but Julius van den Berg didn’t let that stop him. With a time of 24:53 he was in the hot-seat. Michael Hepburn set the first proper target time for the stage win with 23:48. Home favourite Edoardo Affini fell short of that time. Magnus Cort was 6 seconds faster than Hepburn.

A wheelie from Mathieu van der Poel at the finish

Mauro Schmid was a fraction faster than Cort, but the next best time came from Matteo Sobrero. The Italian time trial champion was 41 seconds faster over the climb and at the finish the difference was 1:16. His final time of 22:24 was the time to beat.

The Italian TT champion – Matteo Sobrero – On the winning ride

Mathieu van der Poel, one of the favourite for this time trial, could not match Sobrero’s time check. He had lost 33 seconds to the Italian halfway through and lost another 6 seconds to Sobrero in the second part. Van der Poel set the second fastest time at that point.

Matteo Sobrero posted the top time

Bauke Mollema rode a good time and Thymen Arensman was also going well. The DSM climber was 14 seconds slower than Sobrero at the halfway point. At the finish he was behind by 23 seconds, and so Arensman was second. Behind Sobrero there were all Dutchmen, with Arensman, Van der Poel and Mollema.

KOM Koen Bouwman

Everyone was looking forward to the battle between the favourites on the general classification, who would start every 3 minutes. Jai Hindley defended a 1.25 lead over Richard Carapaz, who had a 26 second margin over Mikel Landa.

Arrivederci Vincenzo Nibali

At the intermediate point, Carapaz and Hindley were almost equally and also in the second part both kept the same pace. Carapaz pulled 8 seconds back, but was unable to make up for the rest of the time. The Ecuadorian finished second overall. Landa was satisfied with a third place on the final podium, more than 3 minutes from Hindley.

One bad day on stage 20 and Carapaz’s Giro dream was over

There was only one change in the top 10: Hugh Carthy took 9th place from Juan Pedro López, who finished 10th. Arnaud Démare, Koen Bouwman and JuanPe López won the points, mountains and young rider classifications.

The 2022 Giro d’Italia goes to Jai Hindley

The winner of the Giro d’Italia, Jai Hindley (BORA-hansgrohe): “I had in the back of my mind what happened in 2020 and I wasn’t going to let that happen again. I was getting updates and I felt pretty good on the bike. So in the end I could take corners cautiously. I’m a proud Australian and I’m delighted to take this win home, being the first Australian to win the Giro d’Italia.”

And the trophy

Stage win for the Italian champ

Stage winner, Matteo Sobrero (BikeExchange-Jayco): “It’s an amazing feeling. It’s our second ITT win after Stage 2 with Simon Yates. It’s the result of a great work in the off season. I gave everything in the second part of the race. It’s unbelievable to succeed to Filippo Ganna. I think he’s proud of me today, we’re big friends.”

# All the Giro news in EUROTRASH and the ‘Final Giro Rant’ on Monday. #

Giro d’Italia Stage 21 Result:
1. Matteo Sobrero (Ita) BikeExchange-Jayco in 22:24
2. Thymen Arensman (Ned) DSM at 0:23
3. Mathieu van der Poel (Ned) Alpecin-Fenix at 0:40
4. Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo at 1:08
5. Ben Tulett (GB) INEOS Grenadiers at 1:12
6. Mauro Schmid (Swi) Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl at 1:17
7. Magnus Cort (Den) EF Education-EasyPost at 1:18
8. Tobias Foss (Nor) Jumbo-Visma at 1:19
9. Michael Hepburn (Aus) BikeExchange-Jayco at 1:24
10. Richard Carapaz (Ecu) INEOS Grenadiers.

Giro d’Italia Final Overall Result:
1. Jai Hindley (Aus) BORA-hansgrohe in 86:31:14
2. Richard Carapaz (Ecu) INEOS Grenadiers at 1:18
3. Mikel Landa (Spa) Bahrain-Victorious at 3:24
4. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Qazaqstan at 9:02
5. Pello Bilbao (Spa) Bahrain-Victorious at 9:14
6. Jan Hirt (CZ) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux at 9:28
7. Emanuel Buchmann (Ger) BORA-hansgrohe at 13:19
8. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux at 17:29
9. Hugh Carthy (GB) EF Education-EasyPost at 17:54
10. Juan Pedro López (Spa) Trek-Segafredo at 18:40.

Watch the most comprehensive live & ad-free coverage of the Giro d’Italia 2022 on GCN+. Go deeper and get interactive with live polls & quizzes, plus rider profiles, race updates, results & more – plus stream original and exclusive cycling documentaries. Watch it all with GCN+ on any device.

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.