What's Cool In Road Cycling
Modena - Italy - wielrennen - cycling - cyclisme - radsport - Arnaud Demare (France / Team Groupama FDJ) - Elia Viviani (Italy / Team Deceuninck - Quick Step) - Rudiger Selig (Germany / Team Bora - hansgrohe) pictured during 102nd Giro d’Italia (2.UWT) - stage 10 from Ravenna to Modena (147KM) - photo LB/RB/Cor Vos © 2019

GIRO’19 Stage 10: Démare De Winner!

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Race Report: Stage 10 of the Giro d’Italia was always going to end in a mass sprint. The question was which fastman would it be? Pascal Ackermann, Caleb Ewan or Elia Viviani? None of them, it was the Frenchman Arnaud Démare of (Groupama-FDJ) who shot to his first Giro victory after a crazy sprint. Valerio Conti (UAE Team Emirates) held onto his overall lead.

Ackermann’s first Giro d’Italia stage win

Crazy things can happen after the rest day, but today the organisation opted for a billiards table flat stage to Modena and an inevitable bunch sprint finish. Pascal Ackermann, Elia Viviani, Caleb Ewan … Would all be fighting it out for the victory in the birthplace of the controversial Riccardo Riccò.

Stage 10 – Ravenna-Modena 145km – total elevation 150m
A completely flat stage, across the Po Valley, raced mostly on broad and straight roads. Street furniture will be found in urban areas, along with roundabouts, traffic dividers, speed bumps and the like along the entire route. The finish is virtually straight.

Final kilometres
The final kilometres are played out on broad and mostly straight roads. Over the last 5km, the only bend is 2,200m from the finish. Porphyry stone pavers cover a 450m stretch, from 1,500m out, almost to the red flag. The home straight is 1,500m long, on a 8m wide asphalt road.

The riders only had 145 kilometres in the saddle today, so the break had to escape early. Luca Covili (Bardiani-CSF) and Sho Hatsuyama (Nippo-Vini Fantini-Faizané) didn’t wait long and were away right from the start. The peloton was not too interested and let them go… There was plenty of time to catch them before the finish.

The break of the day

Covili and Hatsuyama’s lead was limited to just 2 minutes. The sprinter’s teams were keen on a mass gallop for the line, so the two escapees knew they time was numbered. Very little happened en route to Modena, just Enrico Battaglin was involved in a crash. Not for the first time in this Giro d’Italia, since the Katusha-Alpecin rider crashed on the stage to Orbetello. The Italian held his shoulder, but luckily the damage was not so bad. Battaglin managed to rejoin the peloton 30 kilometres from the finish line, just as the break of two was captured.

Covili and Hatsuyama were limited to a 2 minutes lead

Lotto Soudal, Jumbo-Visma, Bora-Hansgrohe and several other teams tried to keep their sprinter and/or GC rider out of trouble. Because of this and the nervousness in the peloton, the pace went up a little. As they hit the final kilometres, the sprinter teams could now smell the finish and the pushing for prime position started.

Lotto Soudal took the initiative for Caleb Ewan and a second stage win. But the Belgian team saw an orange flash shoot out the front of the bunch. CCC’s Francisco Ventoso tried to surprise the peloton 2 kilometres from the finish.

Not a hard day for the peloton

Deceuninck – Quick-Step, Groupama-FDJ and Lotto Soudal were able to pull Ventoso back in time to start the sprint. Several riders crashed under the red flag of the last kilometre: Ackermann, Matteo Moschetti and Jakub Mareczko hit the deck and were out of the sprint.

Viviani and Ewan managed to avoid the crash. The Italian tried out-power the Australian, but Viviani didn’t have enough power. Ewan also did not win as Démare came out of nowhere and held them all off for his first victory in the Giro d’Italia.

Stage winner, Arnaud Démare (AG2R-La Mondiale): “We came to the Giro for this. I really wanted a stage win and I got it. I avoided the crash because we, as a team, we were very well positioned. I’m super happy.”

Not a good finish for Ackermann

Race leader, Valerio Conti (UAE Team Emirates): “I hope nothing bad happened to my team mate Simone Consonni in the crash. I have been well protected by my team the whole day. I thank them for giving me one more day in the Maglia Rosa.”

Giro d’Italia Stage 10 Result:
1. Arnaud Demare (Fra) Groupama-FDJ in 3:36:07
2. Elia Viviani (Ita) Deceuninck – Quick-Step
3. Rüdiger Selig (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe
4. Caleb Ewan (Aus) Lotto Soudal
5. Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) Dimension Data
6. Davide Cimolai (Ita) Israel Cycling Academy
7. Manuel Belletti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec
8. Giovanni Lonardi (Ita) Nippo-Vini Fantini-Faizane
9. Jasper De Buyst (Bel) Lotto Soudal at 0:02
10. Jacopo Guarnieri (Ita) Groupama-FDJ at 0:04
11. Fabio Sabatini (Ita) Deceuninck – Quick-Step
12. Sean Bennett (USA) EF Education First
13. Tobias Ludvigsson (Swe) Groupama-FDJ
14. Roger Kluge (Ger) Lotto Soudal
15. Florian Senechal (Fra) Deceuninck – Quick-Step
16. Josef Cerny (Cze) CCC
17. Ramon Sinkeldam (Ned) Groupama-FDJ
18. Viacheslav Kuznetsov (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin
19. Marco Marcato (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
20. Kristian Sbaragli (Ita) Israel Cycling Academy
21. Amaro Antunes (Por) CCC
22. Francesco Gavazzi (Ita) Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec
23. Nans Peters (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale
24. Manuele Boaro (Ita) Astana
25. Richard Carapaz (Ecu) Movistar.

Giro d’Italia Overall After Stage 10:
1. Valerio Conti (Ita) UAE Team Emirates in 39:45:10
2. Nans Peters (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale at 1:50
3. Primoz Roglic (Slo) Jumbo-Visma
4. José Rojas (Spa) Movistar at 2:33
5. Amaro Antunes (Por) CCC at 2:34
6. Fausto Masnada (Ita) Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec at 2:36
7. Andrey Amador (CRc) Movistar at 2:39
8. Valentin Madouas (Fra) Groupama-FDJ at 3:27
9. Giovanni Carboni (Ita) Bardiani-CSF at 3:30
10. Pello Bilbao (Spa) Astana at 3:32
11. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida at 3:34
12. Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo at 3:45
13. Pieter Serry (Bel) Deceuninck – Quick-Step at 3:47
14. Bob Jungels (Lux) Deceuninck – Quick-Step at 4:08
15. Mattia Cattaneo (Ita) Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec at 4:34
16. Hugh John Carthy (GB) EF Education First at 4:36
17. Davide Formolo (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe at 4:42
18. Rafal Majka (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe at 4:43
19. Sam Oomen (Ned) Sunweb at 5:02
20. Richard Carapaz (Ecu) Movistar at 5:06
21. Victor De La Parte (Spa) CCC at 5:20
22. Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin at 5:22
23. Jan Polanc (Slo) UAE Team Emirates at 5:24
24. Simon Yates (GB) Mitchelton-Scott at 5:36
25. Tanel Kangert (Est) EF Education First at 5:51.

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.