What's Cool In Road Cycling
Orbetello - Italy - wielrennen - cycling - cyclisme - radsport - Elia Viviani (ITA - Deceuninck - Quick Step) - Fernando Gaviria (COL - UAE - Team Emirates) - Arnaud Demare (France / Team Groupama FDJ) pictured during 102nd Giro d’Italia (2.UWT) - stage 3 from Vinci to Orbetello (219KM) - photo LB/RB/Cor Vos © 2019

GIRO’19 Stage 3: Veloce Viviani – Win for Gaviria!

Race Report: Deceuninck – Quick-Step’s fast-finishing Italian champion, Elia Viviani thought he had won in Orbetello on stage 3. After the finish, the race jury relegated Viviani due to a ‘irregular sprint’. Thus, Fernando Gaviria (UAE Team Emirates) was given the stage win.

The mostly flat 220 kilometer stage was expected to be split into echelons by crosswind, but apart from a solo from Sho Hatsuyama the race stayed together for a bunch sprint.

Sorry Elia, but no…

Stage 3 – Vinci-Orbetello 220km – total elevation 1,550m

Stage 3’s rolling profile flattens out towards the finish. The route crosses the hills around Siena before reaching the plain by Grosseto. After one last small hill, the Poggio l’Apparita categorized climb, the final kilometers are pan-flat.

Final kilometers
The last 15km are on flat, broad roads, with fair tarmac surface. After the red flag, the route turns left and then right, leading to the home straight, on a 7.5m wide asphalt road. The last bend is 400m from the finish.

Ready to go

Did Leonardo wear Nike?

The talk before the start was of the wind and echelons, but no team wanted to take a risk from the start in Vinci, and so the pack stuck together. One brave warrior, Sho Hatsuyama of Nippo-Vini Fantini-Faizainè, went for an early solo ride, trying to make up for his teammate, Hiroki Nishimura, who was out of time on the first day and was sent home.

Hatsuyama had a quiet day on his own

Nice wine from Tuscany

After 63 kilometers Hatsuyama took the points in the intermediate sprint, then Arnaud Démare Groupama-FDJ) revealed his ambition for the Purple jersey by winning the sprint for second place. The peloton let Hatsuyama struggle on to a seven minute advantage. With 75 kilometers to go the pace went up and the Japanese rider was caught.

Caught with 75K to go

Knowing that the open sections of the course were about to play a role with the possible strong wind, the peloton became nervous. However, the wind didn’t blow. Bora-Hansgrohe kept in control of the peloton for stage 2 winner Pascal Ackermann and Jumbo-Visma joined them for race leader Primoz Roglic.

Lots of castles in the area

Even the dogs are in the pink!

On the only climb of the day, the Poggio l’Apparita (Cat4), the peloton crossed it together. This allowed KOM Giulio Ciccone (Trek-Segafredo) to easily take the three points at the top.

Switch from Viviani?

Nine kilometers before the finish there was panic for Movistar when Richard Carapaz (13th on GC) had to change bikes. The Ecuadorian had a hard chase, as he lost 46 seconds. Five kilometers before the finish there was a crash as the road narrowed. The peloton was cut in half and Tao Geoghegan Hart (Ineos), who was 7th on GC) lost 1:28 on the peloton.

The front part of the bunch went full gas into the final kilometer, where Groupama-FDJ was the first to lead for Arnaud Démare. Due to a chicane at five hundred meters out, the speed dropped. Of the top riders, Ackermann was the first to start the sprint, but he was slowed by the headwind. Elia Viviani was well positioned and jumped through to celebrate his stage win. Fernando Gaviria (UAE Team Emirates) was strong enough to come second ahead of Démare. That was all the change and everyone moved up a place.

Stage winner, Fernando Gaviria (UAE Team Emirates): “This isn’t really how I wanted to win and that’s why I didn’t celebrate on the podium. In my view Viviani is the winner today. I don’t think he did it on purpose – he came straight out from Ackermann’s slipstream. This is the first time I’ve ‘won’ because of the relegation rule but I guess these things happen, especially in sprinting. Regardless of the result my team did a great job and I hope to repay them with a clear win as soon as possible.”

Giro d’Italia Stage 3 Result:
1. Fernando Gaviria (Col) UAE Team Emirates in 5:23:19
2. Arnaud Demare (Fra) Groupama-FDJ
3. Pascal Ackermann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe
4. Matteo Moschetti (Ita) Trek-Segafredo
5. Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) Dimension Data
6. Jakub Mareczko (Ita) CCC
7. Davide Cimolai (Ita) Israel Cycling Academy
8. Manuel Belletti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec
9. Christian Knees (Ger) Ineos
10. Sacha Modolo (Ita) EF Education First
11. Simon Yates (GB) Mitchelton-Scott
12. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col) Astana
13. Giovanni Lonardi (Ita) Nippo-Vini Fantini-Faizane
14. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
15. Caleb Ewan (Aus) Lotto Soudal
16. José Rojas (Spa) Movistar
17. Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo
18. Andrey Zeits (Kaz) Astana
19. Rafal Majka (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe
20. Mikel Landa (Spa) Movistar
21. Juan Sebastian Molano (Col) UAE Team Emirates
22. Bob Jungels (Lux) Deceuninck – Quick-Step
23. Jan Polanc (Slo) UAE Team Emirates
24. Pavel Sivakov (Rus) Ineos
25. Esteban Chaves (Col) Mitchelton-Scott.

Giro d’Italia Overall After Stage 3:
1. Primoz Roglic (Slo) Jumbo-Visma in 10:21:01
2. Simon Yates (GB) Mitchelton-Scott at 0:19
3. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida 0:00:23
4. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col) Astana at 0:28
5. Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Sunweb
6. Rafal Majka (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe at 0:33
7. Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo at 0:39
8. Damiano Caruso (Ita) Bahrain-Merida at 0:40
9. Pello Bilbao (Spa) Astana at 0:42
10. Victor De La Parte (Spa) CCC at 0:45
11. Bob Jungels (Lux) Deceuninck – Quick-Step at 0:46
12. Hugh John Carthy (GB) EF Education First at 0:47
13. Diego Ulissi (Ita) UAE Team Emirates at 0:50
14. Davide Formolo (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe
15. Daniel Navarro Garcia (Spa) Katusha-Alpecin at 0:58
16. Luke Durbridge (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott
17. Dario Cataldo (Ita) Astana at 0:59
18. Esteban Chaves (Col) Mitchelton-Scott at 1:00
19. Pavel Sivakov (Rus) Ineos at 1:01
20. Ion Izagirre Insausti (Spa) Astana
21. Tony Gallopin (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale at 1:02
22. Enrico Gasparotto (Ita) Dimension Data at 1:04
23. Mikel Landa (Spa) Movistar at 1:07
24. Ben O’Connor (Aus) Dimension Data at 1:12
25. Rob Power (Aus) Sunweb at 1:13.

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.