What's Cool In Road Cycling

GIRO’20 Stage 13: Ulissi Out-Sprints Almeida in Pink!

Ulissi beats Almeida in sprint finish

Stage 13 Race Report: The flat stage 13 to Monselice had a sting in the tail, actually a double sting. The big question was “would the sprinters make it?” In the end it was the GC men who fought out the sprint aster a strong ride from the Deceuninck – Quick-Step team to split the race. At the line it was Diego Ulissi (UAE Team Emirates) who won from the pink jersey, Joāo Almeida (Deceuninck – Quick-Step), and Patrick Konrad (BORA-hansgrohe) in third.

giro20st13 sprint
Diego Ulissi won stage 13 to Monselice on Friday afternoon. The UAE Team Emirates rider was the strongest sprinter of a thinned GC group after a 192 kilometre stage. He was narrowly ahead of GC leader João Almeida

giro20 stage 13
Another day in pink for Joāo Almeida

Stage 13 – Cervia-Monselice – 192km
The stage runs perfectly flat across the Po Plain for 150km, on straight roads (sometimes wide, other times narrower). As it takes its first pass through Monselice, the route draws a long, challenging “semi-circuit” of nearly 40km, with two consecutive harsh climbs. Past Galzignano Terme, the route tackles the Roccolo, taking in three climbs in a row (the Muro di Vallorto, with a maximum gradient of 20%, the Castelnuovo climb and the “actual” Roccolo, max 17%). The roads are relatively narrow, yet well-surfaced. The route drops into Cinto Euganeo and then tackles the Muro di Calaone (maximum slope: 18%), coming from Rivadolmo, before heading for a fast stage finale.

Stage 13 profile:

Final KMs
Over the last 15km, the route descends rapidly along a large road with wide hairpins, from Calaone towards Este. Past Este, the route straightens and levels out, all the way to Monselice. With approximately 3km to go, the stage enters the urban area coming from the railway underpass, with one last sharp left-hand corner 400m before the finish, leading into the home straight, on 8m wide tarmac.

Looking happy at the start – Vincenzo Nibali

The second week ended with a transition stage that took the riders north. Seven riders escaped early in the stage: Harm Vanhoucke (Lotto Soudal), Geoffrey Bouchard (AG2R-La Mondiale), Alessandro Tonelli (Bardiani-CSF), Rodrigo Contreras (Astana), Lorenzo Rota (Vini Zabù-Brado-KTM), Simon Pellaud and Simone Ravanelli (both Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec). The peloton didn’t let them get too far ahead. Their lead fluctuated around 2 minutes for a long time.

The leader’s jerseys line up at the start

And they’re off!

After a relatively calm run up the Po Valley, the race really started in the final section, where a few climbs were on the menu. Under the initiative of the BORA-hansgrohe team, the pace increased and the escape was caught one by one by the peloton. About 17 kilometres before the finish, Tonelli was the last attacker to be caught. The peloton had already split into different groups.

A cool day, but no rain

After the top of the last climb at 15.9 kilometres from the line, Sagan and Démare had missed the move of the front group. A thinned peloton containing all the favourites then pushed on to the finish. Overall leader Almeida, had two teammates with him; James Knox and Fausto Masnada, who immediately went to the front of the group to set a fast pace to hold off the likes of Peter Sagan and any other fast finishers.

Most of the stage was flat

The break of the day

A stage would be decided in a sprint between this elite group riders. Ulissi started the sprint from afar with Almeida in his wheel. The Portuguese kicked next, but it was Ulissi who crossed the finish line first, less than a half wheel ahead of the pink jersey.

The action was hot even if the weather wasn’t

The overall wasn’t under threat, but the points jersey was

The Italian thus booked his second stage victory in this Giro, his eighth ever. Almeida is left with six bonus seconds from his second place, which means that he will start the individual time trial tomorrow with a 40 seconds advantage over Wilco Kelderman.

Contreras leading the doomed break

The pink jersey was never far from the front of the peloton

Stage winner, Diego Ulissi (UAE Team Emirates): “We did a great job on the last climb to drop the sprinters and arrive with a small group. McNulty was very good in the final, how nice to get another success in the Giro!”


It was a close call at the line

Diego Ulissi took his eith Giro stage win

Maglia Rosa, João Almeida (Deceuninck – Quick-Step): “I am a bit disappointed with my second place, I wanted a stage win. I was really close but not close enough. Tomorrow will be a hard ITT but I will give it my best.”


# Keep it PEZ for a big weekend of Giro d’Italia and De Ronde van Vlaanderen. #

Giro d’Italia Stage 13 result:
1. Diego Ulissi (Ita) UAE Team Emirates in 4:22:18
2. João Almeida (Por) Deceuninck – Quick-Step
3. Patrick Konrad (Aut) BORA-hansgrohe
4. Tao Geoghegan Hart (GB) INEOS Grenadiers
5. Mikkel Frølich Honoré (Den) Deceuninck – Quick-Step
6. Sergio Samitier (Spa) Movistar
7. Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana
8. Pello Bilbao (Spa) Bahrain-McLaren
9. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Trek-Segafredo
10. Jai Hindley (Aus) Sunweb
11. Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Sunweb
12. Nicolas Edet (Fra) Cofidis
13. Rafal Majka (Pol) BORA-hansgrohe
14. Ruben Guerreiro (Por) EF Pro Cycling
15. Brandon McNulty (USA) UAE Team Emirates
16. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) NTT Pro Cycling
17. Antonio Pedrero (Spa) Movistar
18. Sam Oomen (Ned) Sunweb
19. James Knox (GB) Deceuninck – Quick-Step
20. Fausto Masnada (Ita) CCC
21. Davide Ballerini (Ita) Deceuninck – Quick-Step at 0:23
22. Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Lotto Soudal
23. Ben Swift (GB) INEOS Grenadiers
24. Peter Sagan (Slo) BORA-hansgrohe
25. Elia Viviani (Ita) Cofidis at 0:39.

Giro d’Italia Overall After Stage 13:
1. João Almeida (Por) Deceuninck – Quick Step in 53:43:58
2. Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Sunweb at 0:40
3. Pello Bilbao (Spa) Bahrain-McLaren at 0:49
4. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) NTT Pro Cycling at 1:03
5. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Trek-Segafredo at 1:07
6. Patrick Konrad (Aut) BORA-hansgrohe at 1:17
7. Jai Hindley (Aus) Sunweb at 1:25
8. Rafał Majka (Pol) BORA-hansgrohe at 1:27
9. Fausto Masnada (Ita) Deceuninck – Quick-Step at 1:42
10. Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana at 2:26
11. Brandon McNulty (USA) UAE Team Emirates at 2:45
12. Tao Geoghegan Hart (GB) INEOS Grenadiers at 2:51
13. Antonio Pedrero (Spa) Movistar at 3:04
14. Hermann Pernsteiner (Aut) Bahrain-McLaren at 5:57
15. James Knox (GB) Deceuninck – Quick-Step at 6:02
16. Sergio Samitier Samitier (Spa) Movistar at 8:49
17. Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) CCC at 16:01
18. Jonathan Castroviejo Nicolas (Spa) INEOS Grenadiers at 19:41
19. Aurélien Paret Peintre (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale at 19:49
20. Sam Oomen (Ned) Sunweb at 23:36
21. Matteo Fabbro (Ita) BORA-hansgrohe at 23:51
22. Attila Valter (Hun) CCC at 25:23
23. Mikkel Frølich Honoré (Den) Deceuninck – Quick-Step at 32:04
24. Lawrence Warbasse (USA) AG2R-La Mondiale at 32:55
25. Jacopo Mosca (Ita) Trek-Segafredo.

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.