What's Cool In Road Cycling
Courmayeur - Italy - wielrennen - cycling - cyclisme - radsport - Richard Carapaz (ECU - Movistar Team) pictured during 102nd Giro d’Italia (2.UWT) - stage 14 from Saint Vincent to Courmayeur (Skyway Monte Bianco) (131KM) - photo LB/RB/Cor Vos © 2019

GIRO’19 Stage 14: Ecuador in The Pink!

Race Report: Richard Carapaz won the mountainous stage 14 of the Giro d’Italia on Saturday and took time from all the GC favourites. The Ecuadorian Movistar rider dominated the climb of the Colle San Carlo and extended his lead over the chase group to the finish line by almost 2 minutes. He also took the leader’s pink jersey from Jan Polanc (UAE Team Emirates) as Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) pulled back a little bit of time with a late attack.

A spectacle was expected in the fourteenth stage of the Giro d’Italia and a spectacle is what we got as the top men made an early move on the mountain road to Courmayeur! Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma) and Simon Yates tested their legs on the first climb of the day, but they were chased by all other strong riders in this Giro. Everything came together again in the valley, but the scene was set for the fireworks to come.

Primoz Roglic has a fan for company while he warms up

Stage 14 – Saint-Vincent-Courmayeur (Skyway Monte Bianco) 131km – total elevation 4,000m

A short and very intense high mountain stage. The only flat stretch of the stage, 14km out of 131, is around Aosta. Otherwise, the route either goes up or goes down. After the Verrayes categorised climb and after crossing Aosta, the route takes in consecutive climbs to Verrogne (15km uphill and 15km downhill), Combes (up to Truc d’Arbe, at the intersection to Arvier), Morgex (along panoramic roads) and Colle San Carlo. The route then drops sharply to La Thuile and Pré-Saint-Didier, where the old road eventually leads to Courmayeur.

Final kilometres
The final climb is 8km long, sloping at 6% for the first 3km, then at 2-3% for the next 5km, all the way to the finish. A narrow double bend to the right leads to the final kilometre. After a gentle turn, the home straight is 100m long. The road surface is tarmacked and the roadway is 6m wide.

Points and overall leaders

Time to go

Eight riders escaped the peloton, this would form the break of the day. Fausto Masnada, Andrey Amador, Ivan Sosa, Christopher Juul-Jensen, Giulio Ciccone, Chris Hamilton, Hugh Carthy and Matteo Cattaneo rode well together for a 3 minutes lead.

Ciccone grabbed the points for his mountains jersey, while Jumbo-Visma kept control in the peloton. The Bahrain-Merida and Astana teams had plans for the stage and sent Ion Izagirre and Damiano Caruso on the attack to help their leaders later in the day. Those two were joined by Tony Gallopin and Alexis Vuillermoz.

Caruso and Izagirri

Izagirre/Caruso and Co. caught the leading group as they were about to start the climb of the Colle San Carlo. This 10.5 kilometre climb starts 35 kilometres from the finish and would cause a lot of fireworks. With a lead of 1:40, the leading group hit the foot of the climb, but once on the climb the riders were pulled back one by one by the chase group. Ciccone was the last to be reeled in 29 kilometres from the finish.

In the group of favourites it was Nibali who struck the first blow. The Italian was accompanied by Roglic, López, Carapaz and Landa. The five riders didn’t give it ‘Full Gas’ and so the other classification riders caught the front five within a kilometre. The overall leader, Jan Polanc, and Ilnur Zakarin were not to be seen and would lose a lot of time to disappear from the top overall table. At the same time Mollema and Yates were also in difficulty due to the attacks of Nibali and López. Mollema eventually lost more than 4 minutes, but Yates battled on to rejoin the leaders.

Carapaz, Roglic, Nibali, Landa and López were obviously the strongest climbers in the race. The five seemed to be well matched, until Carapaz put in his killer blow. The Ecuadorian attacked at 28 kilometres out and soon had a lead of 30 seconds on the favourites. Dombrowski and Majka had managed to catch the group by the summit. There was a short descent followed by a climb again to the finish in Courmayeur.

Carapaz managed to keep his lead on the descent and add a minute and a half on the final climb, making him the new overall leader. In the group of favourites there was no cooperation. Carapaz benefited from the rivalry behind and also Yates managed to jump away and take 22 seconds on the others.

Stage winner and new Maglia Rosa, Richard Carapaz (Movistar): “The truth is that we used a strategy that was well planned by the team. We knew that I and Mikel Landa were in good form so we had to catch the right moment to attack. I did everything as planned. It’s hard to believe that I’m in the Maglia Rosa. It was a dream and I’ve worked hard for this.”

Giro d’Italia Stage 14 Result:
1. Richard Carapaz (Ecu) Movistar in 4:02:23
2. Simon Yates (GB) Mitchelton-Scott at 1:32
3. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida at 1:54
4. Rafal Majka (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe
5. Mikel Landa (Spa) Movistar
6. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col) Astana
7. Pavel Sivakov (Rus) Ineos
8. Primoz Roglic (Slo) Jumbo-Visma
9. Joe Dombrowski (USA) EF Education First
10. Damiano Caruso (Ita) Bahrain-Merida at 2:01
11. Davide Formolo (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe at 3:49
12. Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo at 4:04
13. Hugh John Carthy (GB) EF Education First at 5:40
14. Mikel Nieve (Spa) Mitchelton-Scott
15. Antonio Pedrero (Spa) Movistar
16. Alexis Vuillermoz (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale at 5:58
17. Valentin Madouas (Fra) Groupama-FDJ
18. Andrey Zeits (Kaz) Astana
19. Giulio Ciccone (Ita) Trek-Segafredo at 7:13
20. Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin at 7:20
21. Fausto Masnada (Ita) Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec
22. Edward Dunbar (Irl) Ineos
23. Christopher Hamilton (Aus) Sunweb
24. Sepp Kuss (USA) Jumbo-Visma
25. Ivan Sosa (Col) Ineos.

Giro d’Italia Overall After Stage 14:
1. Richard Carapaz (Ecu) Movistar in 58:35:34
2. Primoz Roglic (Slo) Jumbo-Visma at 0:07
3. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida at 1:47
4. Rafal Majka (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe at 2:10
5. Mikel Landa (Spa) Movistar at 2:50
6. Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo at 2:58
7. Jan Polanc (Slo) UAE Team Emirates at 3:29
8. Pavel Sivakov (Rus) Ineos at 4:55
9. Simon Yates (GB) Mitchelton-Scott at 5:28
10. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col) Astana at 6:30
11. Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin at 6:04
12. Davide Formolo (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe at 8:21
13. Mikel Nieve (Spa) Mitchelton-Scott at 10:20
14. Tanel Kangert (Est) EF Education First at 11:21
15. Joe Dombrowski (USA) EF Education First at 12:56
16. Valentin Madouas (Fra) Groupama-FDJ at 13:10
17. Hugh John Carthy (GB) EF Education First at 14:38
18. Tony Gallopin (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale at 19:32
19. Valerio Conti (Ita) UAE Team Emirates at 21:12
20. Victor De La Parte (Spa) CCC at 21:22
21. Alexis Vuillermoz (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale at 21:34
22. Fausto Masnada (Ita) Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec at 21:56
23. Giulio Ciccone (Ita) Trek-Segafredo at 23:07
24. Edward Dunbar (Irl) Ineos at 25:50
25. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Bahrain-Merida at 29:58.

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.