What's Cool In Road Cycling
Terracina - Italy - wielrennen - cycling - cyclisme - radsport - Pascal Ackermann (GER - Bora - Hansgrohe) - Fernando Gaviria (COL - UAE - Team Emirates) pictured during 102nd Giro d’Italia (2.UWT) - stage 5 from Frascati to Terracina (140KM) - photo DB/RB/Cor Vos © 2019

GIRO’19 Stage 5: Another for Ackermann!

Race Report: At the finish of very wet stage 5; Bora-Hansgrohe’s Pascal Ackermann got the better of Fernando Gaviria (UAE Team Emirates) in Terracina. The German champion squeezed ahead of the Colombian for his second 2019 Giro stage win. Tom Dumoulin had to abandon in the neutralised zone.

Win No.2 for Ackermann

Stage 5 was a cold, wet day and miserable for many, especially Sunweb’s Tom Dumoulin, who had to retire from the Giro after his late crash on Tuesday. The Sunweb leader struggled with the pain in his left knee for a very short time before he decided to call it a day. The Giro went ahead with the fifth leg from Frascati to Terracina. This riders ‘only’ had to race 140 kilometres. The final was almost flat, so a bunch sprint was to be expected.

Actress and Miss World runner-up, Giorgia Palmas, was at the start of stage 5 in Frascati

Stage 5 – Frascati-Terracina 140km – total elevation 1,200m

The mostly flat Stage 5 route starts downhill and finishes along the Tyrrhenian coast, with just a short climb 50km before the finish. In the central part of the route, the roadway is narrow and very worn out in places. The end of the stage is raced on wide and well-paved fast roads.

Final kilometres
The final 9.2km circuit is on broad, mostly straight urban roads, with three consecutive bends between 8 and 7km from the finish. The 1,500m home stretch is perfectly straight with the finish line on 7.5m wide tarmac.

Italian Prime Minister, Giuseppe Conte, started stage 5

This morning the Prime Minister of Italy, Giuseppe Conte, paid a visit to the Corsa Rosa and started Stage 5 in Frascati. The Prime Minister said: “It is an honour and a pleasure to be here. I have always followed the Giro d’Italia, many times I was also among the people on the road waiting for the race. The Giro d’Italia is a means to show our country in the world. I would never have thought of getting on the podium one day with the riders. Good luck to all the riders!” He then addressed the Italian riders: “The country is watching you”.

It was going to be a wet and cold stage, Primoz Roglic warmed up on the home-trainer

Sunweb’s Tom Dumoulin started, but climbed off in the neutralised zone

Dumoulin had every intention to carry on in the Giro, but after just one kilometre the 2017 Giro winner had to climb into the Sunweb team car. Not long after the start five riders header off into the heavy rain: Enrico Barbin and Umberto Orsini (Bardiani-CSF), Miguel Eduardo Florez (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec), Ivan Santaromita (Nippo Vini Fantini-Faizane) and Louis Vervaeke (Sunweb).

The wet break of the day

The five escapees took a maximum lead of 2 minutes, but a mass sprint was always going to be the conclusion of the dat. The break was caught in good time, and so the compact peloton started the concluding local laps around Terracina. The classification riders were all safe as the finish times were taken when the peloton started the circuit with 9 kilometres remaining. It was all down to the sprinter’s teams to make the excitement.

The peloton pulled the break back in good time

The pink jersey was wet and safe for another day on the back of Primoz Roglic

It was Israel Cycling Academy that led with Davide Cimolai, but the ProContinental team was swamped by Groupama-FDJ and CCC, fighting for Arnaud Démare and Jakub Mareczko. As expected it was the Deceuninck – Quick-Step team who pushed to the front. Fabio Sabatini managed to pilot his leader; Elia Viviani to the pointy end of the race.

Gaviria went first, but Ackermann had the final jump

The wet conditions must have affected the Italian champion as he did not have the legs to sprint. Fernando Gaviria surprised everyone with a very early jump. The UAE Emirates rider looked to be able to hold on to his lead to the finish line, but Ackermann had the better finishing effort for his second 2019 stage win.

More points in the bag for the Maglia Ciclamino

Stage winner Pascal Ackermann (Bora-Hansgrohe): “It was a two-time sprint today. I had to brake at 250 metres to go but luckily Gaviria became the perfect lead out man for me. I had a lot of power in the end. I’m just happy about today. It was scary all day under the rain. I was happy to get the cyclamen jersey back yesterday. I hope to continue winning in these colours.”

The second Giro podium for Pascal Ackermann

Giro d’Italia Stage 5 Result:
1. Pascal Ackermann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe in 3:27:05
2. Fernando Gaviria (Col) UAE Team Emirates
3. Arnaud Demare (Fra) Groupama-FDJ
4. Caleb Ewan (Aus) Lotto Soudal
5. Matteo Moschetti (Ita) Trek-Segafredo
6. Ryan Gibbons (RSA) Dimension Data
7. Paolo Simion (Ita) Bardiani-CSF
8. Jenthe Biermans (Bel) Katusha-Alpecin
9. Giovanni Lonardi (Ita) Nippo-Vini Fantini-Faizane
10. Manuel Belletti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec
11. Davide Cimolai (Ita) Israel Cycling Academy
12. Josef Cerny (Cze) CCC
13. Sean Bennett (USA) EF Education First
14. Juan Jose Lobato Del Valle (Spa) Nippo-Vini Fantini-Faizane
15. Rudiger Selig (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe
16. Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) Dimension Data
17. Simone Consonni (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
18. Jacopo Guarnieri (Ita) Groupama-FDJ
19. Elia Viviani (Ita) Deceuninck – Quick-Step
20. Marco Haller (Aut) Katusha-Alpecin
21. Jasper De Buyst (Bel) Lotto Soudal
22. Fabio Sabatini (Ita) Deceuninck – Quick-Step
23. Jakub Mareczko (Ita) CCC
24. Lorenzo Rota (Ita) Bardiani-CSF
25. Mirco Maestri (Ita) Bardiani-CSF.

Giro d’Italia Overall After Stage 5:
1. Primoz Roglic (Slo) Jumbo-Visma in 19:46:25
2. Simon Yates (GB) Mitchelton-Scott at 0:35
3. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida at 0:39
4. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col) Astana at 0:44
5. Diego Ulissi (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
6. Rafal Majka (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe at 0:49
7. Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo at 0:55
8. Damiano Caruso (Ita) Bahrain-Merida at 0:56
9. Bob Jungels (Lux) Deceuninck – Quick-Step at 1:02
10. Davide Formolo (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe at 1:06
11. Victor De La Parte (Spa) CCC at 1:10
12. Pello Bilbao (Spa) Astana at 1:16
13. Hugh John Carthy (GB) EF Education First
14. Esteban Chaves (Col) Mitchelton-Scott
15. Tony Gallopin (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale at 1:18
16. Richard Carapaz (Ecu) Movistar at 1:21
17. Pavel Sivakov (Rus) Ineos at 1:24
18. Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin at 1:36
19. Pascal Ackermann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe at 1:37
20. Jan Polanc (Slo) UAE Team Emirates at 1:39
21. Florian Senechal (Fra) Deceuninck – Quick-Step at 1:48
22. Mikel Landa (Spa) Movistar at 1:49
23. Mattia Cattaneo (Ita) Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec at 1:50
24. Alexis Vuillermoz (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale at 1:54
25. Mikel Nieve (Spa) Mitchelton-Scott at 1:56.

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.