What's Cool In Road Cycling
Sanremo - Italy - wielrennen - cycling - cyclisme - radsport - Julian Alaphilippe (France / Team Deceuninck - Quick Step) - Oliver Naesen (Belgium / Team AG2R La Mondiale) - Michal Kwiatkowski (Polen / Team Sky) - Matej Mohoric (Slovenia / Team Bahrain - Merida) pictured during 110th Milano-Sanremo (1.UWT) A One day race from Milano to Sanremo (291KM) - photo VK/PN/Cor Vos © 2019

Milano-Sanremo’19: Allez Alaphilippe!

Race Report: The cream came to the top of the Milan-Sanremo peloton milk as the decisive group escaped on the final climb of the Poggio. There were attacks aplenty on the run-in, but it was Deceuninck – Quick-Step’s Julian Alaphilippe who crossed the line first on the Via Roma in Sanremo.

Julian Alaphilippe – A man on form

Julian Alaphilippe won Milan-Sanremo. The Deceuninck – Quick-Step Frenchman took the Primavera, the best of a select group that forced its self away on the Poggio. Oliver Naesen (AG2R-La Mondiale) was second, Michal Kwiatkowski (Sky) third.

Last years winner, Vincenzo Nibali and World champion, Alejandro Valverde waiting for the off

Data collected by Velon’s devices on the riders’ bikes tells the detailed story of La Primavera: Data can be found here.

Peter Sagan happy as always

Warm weather for Greg Van Avermaet

Everyone wants a photo of the start

La Primavera once again lived up to its name with sunshine on the Ligurian coast for 291 kilometres between Milan-San Remo.

The tram lines of Milan are the first obstacle of the day

Once out of town the speed was high all day

The break of the day only took 10 minutes to make their bid for freedom. Four Team Novo Nordisk riders were among them: Joonas Hentala, Andrea Peron, Charles Planet and Umberto Poli, more than half of the Diabetes team were off the front of the race. Guy Sagiv, Luca Raggio, Fausto Masnada, Sebastian Schönberger, Mirco Maestri and Alessandro Tonelli were the others who made up the front group.

The break of the day had four riders from Team Novo Nordisk

They built up a 10 minute lead, but this of course was not going to last. At first it was UAE Team Emirates who did most of the work to keep the lead under control. The gap to the peloton was soon reduced to 8 minutes and after the Passo del Turchino, at the halfway point, it was 5 minutes.

The weather on the coast didn’t disappoint

The Tre Capi (the Capo Mele, Capo Cervo and the Capo Berta) come 50 kilometres from the finish, but the peloton took the three climbs without any attacks. At this point the lead group fell apart and the peloton was only just over 1 minute behind them.

The peloton was in one long line most of the day

Masnada went solo before the Cipressa, but the peloton increased the speed. World champion, Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) and Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) came to the front and the pace was so high that Masnada was caught before he hit the Cipressa.

The flares were out again on the Capi

Once on the Cipressa, it was Astana that took the initiative. Laurens De Vreese set the pace at the head of the pack so that nobody could attack. At the back Dylan Groenewegen (Jumbo-Visma) was having problems in last place in the peloton hoping to survive the Cipressa. He was still there at the start of the Poggio.

Bonifazio gave it a good shot

Niccolo Bonifazio (Direct Energie) attacked on the descent and took a 15-second lead, but it did not last long.

Gilbert and Stybar kept the speed high for Alaphilippe

Alaphilippe made his move

On the Poggio Deceuninck – Quick-Step set a blistering pace for Julian Alaphilippe as their fast-finisher, Elia Viviani, was slipping out the back. Alberto Bettiol (EF Education First) made the first move, he was immediately countered by Alaphilippe, Peter Sagan, Oliver Naesen, Alejandro Valverde, Michal Kwiatkowski and Wout van Aert. This was THE winning group, although Tom Dumoulin, Daniel Oss, Simon Clarke and Michael Matthews fought there way to the tail of the leaders.

The French climber is now a sprinter

Into the last kilometre and it was the European champion Trentin who went for a long one, but it was the ‘crossman Van Aert who had him back in the fold. Matej Mohoric led onto the Via Roma, but it was Alaphilippe who was the strongest man in the race who hit the front and held the others off to take the big win.

Another win for the Deceuninck – Quick-Step team

2019 Milano-Sanremo winner, Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck – Quick-Step): “I will need some time to realise what I have achieved today. We’ve made the race hard and I stayed focused. I followed Mohoric at 600 meters. I made no mistake. It’s unbelievable!”

All happy in the Belgian team

# Stay PEZ for lots more from Sanremo. #

Milano-Sanremo Result:
1. Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Deceuninck – Quick-Step in 6:40:14
2. Oliver Naesen (Bel) AG2R-La Mondiale
3. Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Sky
4. Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe
5. Matej Mohoric (Slo) Bahrain-Merida
6. Wout van Aert (Bel) Jumbo-Visma
7. Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar
8. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
9. Simon Clarke (Aus) EF Education First
10. Matteo Trentin (Ita) Mitchelton-Scott
11. Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Sunweb at 0:03
12. Michael Matthews (Aus) Sunweb at 0:08
13. Daniel Oss (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe at 0:24
14. Alexander Kristoff (Nor) UAE Team Emirates at 0:27
15. Magnus Cort (Den) Astana
16. Fernando Gaviria (Col) UAE Team Emirates
17. Marco Haller (Aut) Katusha-Alpecin
18. Mike Teunissen (Ned) Jumbo-Visma
19. Davide Ballerini (Ita) Astana
20. Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) Dimension Data
21. Amund Grondahl Jansen (Nor) Jumbo-Visma
22. Davide Cimolai (Ita) Israel Cycling Academy
23. Julien Simon (Fra) Cofidis
24. Clement Venturini (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale
25. Luka Mezgec (Slo) Mitchelton-Scott.

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.