What's Cool In Road Cycling

Georgia’08 St.5: Banner Day For England & Bissell

The Tour of Georgia ramped up the toughness significantly on Friday, as the race headed into the mountains for the first time. Bissell’s Richard England, former Aussie Crit Champ, took the sprint after a long, hard day in the foothills of the Georgia mountains.

It took a good while for the break to finally get free on Friday, but when it did, it was off for a loooong while – nearly 100 miles on the day. Tim Johnson (HealthNet), Ted King (Bissell), Cameron Evans (Symmetrics), and Valery Kobzarenko (TT1) enjoyed a long day out front, with Ted King taking the mountain jersey by the end of the day, and Tim Johnson getting the most aggressive rider jersey after a nasty attack on the final KOM before the break was swallowed up by a diminished, but hard-charging field.

Greg Henderson lost contact with the healthy-sized group of leaders, but overall, the general classification is tightly bunched heading into the decisive stage to Brasstown Bald!

Trent Lowe started the day as the Best Young Rider and finished it in the Leader’s Jersey.

Tim Johnson had an awesome day at the office.

Ted King wasn’t too shabby either – he’s taking a liking to the KOM jerseys all over the place.

Levi Leipheimer was comfortable and present at the front all day.

England led out the sprint and no one could come around him.


Seriously, happy.

Results Stage 5
1. Richard England (Aus), Bissell Pro Cycling, 5:15:15
2. Rory Sutherland (Aus), Health Net Maxxis, 5:15:15
3. George Hincapie (USA), Team High Road, 5:15:15
4. Andrew Pinfold (CAN), SYM, 5:15:15
5. Oscar Sevilla (Sp), Rock Racing, 5:15:15
6. Levi Leipheimer (USA), Astana, 5:15:15
7. Moises Aldape (MEX), TT1, 5:15:15
8. Bobby Julich (USA), CSC, 5:15:15
9. Trent Lowe* (Aus), Slipstream-Chipotle, 5:15:15
10. Trent Wilson (Aus), Jittery Joe’s Coffee, 5:15:15

General Classification After Five Stages
1. Trent Lowe* (Aus), Slipstream-Chipotle, 16:33:29
2. David Zabriskie (USA), Slipstream-Chipotle, 16:33:29
3. Christian VandeVelde (USA), Slipstream-Chipotle, 16:33:29
4. Levi Leipheimer (USA), Astana, 16:33:33
5. Christopher Horner (USA), Astana, 16:33:33
6. Antonio Colom (Sp), Astana, 16:33:33
7. George Hincapie (USA), Team High Road, 16:33:35
8. Kanstantsin Siutsou (Blr), Team High Road, 16:33:35
9. Bobby Julich (USA), CSC, 16:33:42
10. Inigo Cuesta (Sp), CSC, 16:33:42

For more pics, make sure to check out DarrellParks.com!

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.