What's Cool In Road Cycling

Colorado’11 St.4: Viviani Fastest In Steamboat

Photo report: After a Prologue and three difficult road stages, the sprinters got their chance in Stage 4, and they didn’t waste it. The expected bunch sprint materialized on the streets of Steamboat Springs, and it was Elia Viviani and his Liquigas teammates who crossed the line arms aloft.

Photography by Darrell Parks – www.darrellparks.com –

A break escaped early, but this was not to be a day for the aggressors. A sprint was on the menu, and no one was going to upset galloping destiny.

The Yampa Valley is a beautiful, stark place.

Fans awaiting the arrival of the race just above the finish line.

Here they come!

Elia Viviani got it without too much fuss.

The rest of the field pours over the line.

The day’s podium: Viviani, Michael Morkov, and Kenny Van Hummel.

Viviani found himself a cowboy hat to celebrate in style with.

The jerseys…

Stage 4 Results
1 Elia Viviani (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale 2:58:14
2 Michael Mшrkшv (Den) Saxo Bank Sungard
3 Kenny Robert Van Hummel (Ned) Skil – Shimano
4 Robert Fцrster (Ger) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling
5 Dennis Van Winden (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team
6 Jaime Alberto Castaneda Ortega (Col) EPM – UNE
7 Daniel Summerhill (USA) Team Garmin-Cervelo
8 Alexander Efimkin (Rus) Team Type 1 – Sanofi
9 George Hincapie (USA) BMC Racing Team
10 Fred Rodriguez (USA) Team Exergy

General Classification
1 Levi Leipheimer (USA) Team RadioShack 13:28:43
2 Christian Vande Velde (USA) Team Garmin-Cervelo 0:00:11
3 Tejay Van Garderen (USA) HTC-Highroad 0:00:17
4 Thomas Danielson (USA) Team Garmin-Cervelo 0:00:21
5 George Hincapie (USA) BMC Racing Team 0:00:53
6 Rafael Infantino Abreu (Col) EPM – UNE 0:01:14
7 Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team 0:01:18
8 Stef Clement (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team 0:01:42
9 Bruno Pires (Por) Leopard Trek 0:01:49
10 Rory Sutherland (Aus) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling 0:01:50
11 Ivan Rovny (Rus) Team RadioShack 0:02:07
12 Jeff Louder (USA) BMC Racing Team 0:02:17
13 Frдnk Schleck (Lux) Leopard Trek
14 Juan Pablo Suarez Suarez (Col) EPM – UNE 0:02:20
15 Janier Alexis Acevedo Colle (Col) Gobernacion De Antioquia 0:02:35
16 Chris Baldwin (USA) Bissell Cycling 0:02:38
17 Robert Gesink (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team 0:02:46
18 Sergio Luis Henao Montoya (Col) Gobernacion De Antioquia 0:03:14
19 Oscar Sevilla Ribera (Spa) Gobernacion De Antioquia 0:03:16
20 Peter Stetina (USA) Team Garmin-Cervelo 0:03:26

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.